A Little Market Friday Sticker Shock 😮😊

in #steemusa6 years ago

I've always loved this photo of my daughter in Trader Joe's grocery store. Looks like she had a little sticker shock 😂

FB_IMG_1541799295144.jpg

Back in the day when the kids were little, Trader Joe's would give away free ballons. The joy and anticipation of the free balloon was enough reason to drive, not to the closest grocery store, but the extra distance to Trader Joe's. Then they got the tiny person sized shopping carts! My daughter, who was a toddler at the time, always had hated the grocery store. Now that she could be in control of her own cart, she was a champion shopper! I was eternally grateful.

Then, in another stroke of genius, they started the "Find the Monkey" contest. Each store had a stuffed animal hidden somewhere & if your child "found" the monkey, they would get a lollipop from the cashier. Grocery shopping with two small children was now a joy. Trader Joe's won my loyalty.

20181107_150119.jpg

Well, now my kids are teens, and I do the shopping by myself. My days of looking for stuffed monkeys and ballons are long gone.

IMG-0640.JPG

But, I was a little excited to see that my local Pasadena, California Trader Joe's is actually the very first Trader Joe's!

Just one more reason to make it special 😊

Happy #MarketFriday to @dswigle and all the shoppers out there!

steemusafooter.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Sort:  

This totally gets the Awwww! Award for today! That is so stinking cute! I loved Trader Joes for the same reason! How could you not? I wasn't fond of grocery shopping when I was a kid either, but perhaps if they had stuffed monkeys or little shopping carts, there might have been more appreciation on my part.

Sweet post and you totally made my morning!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Hi @denisechips! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Wow! I don't think my TJ's has the little kid carts, or at least, I've never seen one. They do have a treasure chest full of lollipops by the cashiers, but it's always in the same place with a sign, so it's not like they have to "hunt" for it. I think hiding a doll would make that more fun for the kids, that's awesome.

They sure do grow up sooo fast!

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

So adorable! It is so lovely they take the perspective of children to make shopping at their store enjoyable for all!

Thanks so much for stopping by to shop with us @creationofcare 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38