[LIFE VIEW] Appreciating the things you have in this life.

in #steemtrail6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

What if you gave someone a gift, and they neglected to thank you for it - would you be likely to give them another? Life is the same way. In order to attract more of the blessings that life has to offer, you must truly appreciate what you already have.
Ralph Marston

Hello and welcome to another episode of lifechronicles. Today we're going to be talking about appreciation. More specifically, appreciating the things you have in this life. Yes, I'm referring to material possessions. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that these possessions must own you, I'm saying that no matter what you have, how little it might be, appreciate it. Know that there are people out there who have less than you, and I firmly believe that some of us don't appreciate what we have.

Now we can talk about appreciating the people in your life, but that has been covered. Look around you, and see what you have. For me personally, I'm grateful for everything. Yes there are days where I live off bread lone, but I appreciate that slice of bread, I value it. You wanna know why? Because it humbles me. It makes me realise that I'm fortunate enough to have this slice of bread. That it could be worse where I didn't have it.

Many of you will most probably say, "Dude, it's just a slice of bread". Sure, and you would be correct in saying that, but by me appreciating that slice of bread, I am humbled. And I don't know about you, but being humble is way more valuable and important to me than owning 20 expensive cars or 10 mansions. You see these movie stars and famous people who have I don't know how many houses, they waste their money, they think that well will never dry up.


Image Source

So what happens the day when that well does dry up? Well, let's be honest, they most probably have more money than what they know what to do with, but what use is it being a fool with riches? I'd rather be wise and poor. Now, now, I'm not hating on those that have worked hard and became successful. I wish I could be like them! I'm saying look around you. You drive an average car? You only have a 2 bedroom house? Erm, hello! At least you have transport and a roof over your head!

Appreciate that! I lived in a garage for 4 months, and that opened my eyes. Now, I appreciate a toilet I can use in my own palce. I appreciate a warm bed and a hot plate of food. But I wouldn't have this mindset if I didn't experience what it's like to have nothing. Those days where I didn't eat, or got cold. I believe you have to have gone through that to appreciate even the smallest things you own in this world. So many people just want to "keep up with the Jones'".

How hard they will fall one day, and how sad it is. Be grateful for what you have, and by all means, there's nothing wrong with owning 20 cars or having 10 houses. Just make sure you own them and they don't own you. Appreciate the free air you get to breathe every morning. Appreciate living another day to make a positive impact on this world. Sound cliche? Well, yea, maybe, but it's the truth. With appreciation you'll be a prideful snot like I was.


Image Source

Let me tell you, the person I was back then, was not a very good person. I didn't appreciate anything. I was entitled. I expected the world to give me everything without being willing to work for it. When you do not appreciate things, that is who you become. And you want to know what happens then? The little that you have, you lose! And why shouldn't you lose it? it's not like you appreciated it in the first place. Those items can go to someone else who's willing to be grateful and appreciate it much more than you can or ever will.

It sounds harsh yes, but it's the truth, and I had to learn that the hard way. Don't let your material possessions own you, but don't take them for granted. Humble yourself and see what you have, count your blessings, no matter how "small" they might seem in your eyes. Something that is "worthless" to you is worth the world to someone else. Take a walk around your neighborhood and have a look at all the homeless. See what they have, and then look at what you have. Yea, eye opener right?

Don't ever become so arrogant or so selfish or prideful that you lose sight of what you have. Don't focus on the possessions of other's and become resentful of the "few things" that you have. Appreciate every little blessing you have, and humble yourself. You'll see when that happens, your character will be more than all the silver and gold in this world. And that, to me, is what I want. To be humble. To be appreciative.


Source

Sort:  

Congratulations @lifechronicles! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lifechronicles! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79