Should I reinvigorate SteemTrail?

in #steemtrail6 years ago

I want your opinion on this, I know there were some disappointments and misunderstandings, but I think the service itself was a good idea.


As it stands right now, it's overwhelmed with spamish self-promotions, littered with redundant trails, and barely used by a few staunch holdouts.

I think that's because it became more of a community than a service. Everyone was free to join, post, repost, and crosspost. In fact, the user level called "everyone" has permissions to do exactly that.

My first step would be to restrict those permissions. If I do this, everyone will be able to comment, but only the curators will be able to embed links, and spamming bare urls will invoke deletions and bans. Because if the site is to have any function at all, it has to be first and foremost about curation.

There does need to be a community, but it should be a community of curators, in the full sense. Here we dcall voting "curation" but an actual curator finds original work of value, does the work to present it to patrons of the art, and cares for it during its appearance. Those people, who are willing to do that work, will be the focus of the revitalized Steemtrail.

The reward for doing that work should be the pleasure of a job well done and the increased "esteem" of the Steemit community. Trail Coins are a thing of the past, as far as I can see. Like other social tokens it just went away. I was surprised it ever gained any value on the crypto market - a nice surprise (even though I never cashed out), but a surprise.

There will also be the Streemian vote. This is what Steemit Authors will be competing for, and curators are steemit authors. So here is the hard to draw line between spam and valid self-promotion. I think, given the limited number of curators, that we can count on social pressure to keep that at levels that show modesty and restraint.

But what are your opinions? What have I failed to understand, and what history did I miss? Please be forthright.


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity
And my How to be a bachelor series

Sort:  

I gave you my opinion already on Discord. Make a bot block all the selfpromotion post and only let curators put up posts that are open for discussion.

But again Im not aware of how the trail used to be, I stepped in too late haha

Hi, good morning! Yes, I'm pretty sure that's how it's going to go. Big changes in moderation and curation processes. You are right at the beginning of the new SteemTrail, so, that's good for you!

I'm pleased you're back! If there's any way I can help, as always, let me know :)

If you could take over and do everything, that'd great! kthxbye!

Haha! You know how that would go...

Thanks for your opini@baerdric

It a great opinion but i think that cant work out for now but dont know what will happen in the fuctur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59