Stop Chasing Whales!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemtips7 years ago (edited)

We all dream that one day we will have a whale friend who will support, and guarantee us fat payouts. It sure sounds like a neat plan. Only thing is, it's not going to happen! The sooner new steemians realize it's useless fishing for whales, the better experience they will have on the platform.

japan-whale-hunt.jpg

You might argue that if you write really good and original material then surely some whales will notice you. While this can really happen to anyone and it's an interesting thought, in reality, you will be left disappointed. I'm not saying that whales don't vote. On the contrary, lately more and more whales are active and if one gets lucky he or she might receive a 20-30$ vote.
Whales are mysterious creatures, and from what I've been seeing for almost a year now is that most whales vote randomly, they rarely​ leave comments or read articles at​ all. You can get a whale vote just for posting a silly meme or by writing a really good article. It makes no difference to them, they will upvote anyway. To back up my theory, one of my comments received a vote from one of the biggest players on Steemit, @blocktrades. First of all,​ I'm grateful​ for all the support I have been receiving from them, but this doesn't change the fact that it was just a random vote. And it's worth almost as my last post. Someone commented the typical " I upvoted you, now you upvote me" comment that I really find repulsive, so I left a little message in the comments that this is not the way Steemit works. After a while, ​I received an upvote from @blocktrades, and I thought that it's a nice gesture, trying to encourage steemians not just to ask for upvotes. When I opened the post by @sanevys it turned out the post received also a nice fat payout, which is nice but also the guy who asked for votes got an upvote, which is ridiculous​. So there you have it, most upvotes by whales are purely random and it's actually a good thing ​because anyone can get lucky. But trying to catch a whale is just silly, and not what Steemit is all about.

PS, yes I did flag it :)​

Image source

-

Join Steemit SlavChat @ discord.me/steemitslavchat

-

Sort:  

Just saying... Blocktrades votes can be weird.

But it is true that hoping for a whale vote is vain and mostly in vain. And building a following on good content is all too often surpassed by strange stuff... but that's it. Steemit is still a toddler trying to control its limps.

Once Steemit gets a better categorisation we can expect better users engagement. Like - different languages categorisation, that would be nice. This trend of categorisation is pushing down new users from the start of their

Making Steemit more customizable and user-friendly will be a huge leap in this direction.

Well the thing is, it's almost pointless trying to get their attention. Most of the whales hardly ever make posts.. It's quite simple, just work on your own game, striving for absolute excellent in the quality of your work, and it will be seen. That's how many of how bigger-payout Steemers did it by the looks of things.

Those whales never post, they just upvote. Not saying it's impossible either, but you have to work your ass off, and not complain when you are not getting instant results lol.

The main reason I'm doing this post is that many new steemians always ask me how to get whales upvotes, should they pay them for votes, what kind of pots whales like etc.
It's nice to have realistic expectations from Steemit, otherwise, you will be bashing your head for nothing. Just as you said, work on your game, be patient, strive for quality and forget about the whales.

So true. It's a little ironic, but generally when we focus on something too hard, we tend to never achieve it.. Whereas if we just focus on what is necessary to create true impressions, the most amazing things start to happen!

i don't dream of whales at all. i have no desire to be a whale, if that happens so be it. i'm just happy to have an engaged audience who leave comments, interact with me AND i have a free blog on the internet that it's easy to use, after a decade of different CMS systems (b2, nucleus, kirby, tumblr, posterous, wordpress) i'm just happy to have found a social media style blogging platform that works for me to actually ENGAGE and WRITE again. that's worth more to me than STATUS, the fact we get a bit of funds every so often, well that's just been great to me to learn about crypto in this way and has made me learn another side of computing that i did'nt know previously.

I like your mindset and your take on Steemit in general. I couldn't have said it better.

Едно от първите неща, които попитах след като @rorxco ми разказа за Steemit беше дали човеците вече правят опити да го опорочат... Не само преследване на големите риби, а и всички човеци-ботове от типа - Аз ти давам, дай сега и ти, си е чиста байганьовщина в световни мащаби.

Ми да има много чесно казано, но това прави платформата по-резистентна, защото постоянно се мисли как може да се подобрят нещата.

I already dreamed it! :) Not with having a whale friend but having a huge payout in one of my posts. When I checked it the next morning, reality brought me to the reality again!

I loved that you flaged it!

Well it's not impossible. If you are active enough, sooner or later it will happen. Just don't count on it, when it happens ​take it as a bonus.

I know!! But dreaming about​ it!? That makes me feel getting crazy!

I know what you mean. But stay away from whales votes, they are addictive :)

Pozdrav! I will be joining slavchat. And yes, that and selfupvoting 100$ memes are the main issues of Steemit right now. It's simply unavoidable. But it is a mirror from our real life experience. People tend to get attached to wealthy people in an effort to gain more influence and wealth of their own. Nothing new. And writing on this topic won't get you any points in the eyes of the community. Theres a saying:

Whales gonna whale.

I'm more concerned with saying the truth, than stick up so someone with a large amount of SP. I'm not here to be the whales' clown.

It is unfair. But eventually more and more people will become whales. Steemit is a reflexion of modern society agenda.

To become officially a whale one needs​ about 300 000 SP. So becoming​ a whale from blogging is kind of unrealistic. Most​ of us can become dolphins​, really fat ones.

#MinnowsAccountsMatter , lol. I'm still unsure of the calculations on the "whales" et cetera because, if you had 500.000sp a month ago, you had 1 million USD, now you have half of it, and less. If it drops to 0.10$, are they still whales? In Steemit sense - yes, but in the crypto, no. Btw, you could become a whale from blogging. Get a nice team of whales upvoting your posts for 365 days. 365 posts with 500 sp / day. :) There are some people who get near that amount daily here. Will it continue, I hope so. But the gap between the whales and large earners and the dolphins is growing more and more each day, and it's a turn off for many new people. Hope Steemit gets a refresh.

It's not how much money they have, it's how much vest they have. So price is relative.

Well, if you had 500k SP. Would you speak against the whales system, sincerely?

I'm not talking against whales, maybe it sounds like that. I'm stating that they vote randomly, and it's useless to try to impress them.
I've been on the platform long enough. I've seen whales speaking against the whales system. There was a flagging experiment not long ago. So if I had 500k SP many people will not like what I have to say.

This post will really enlighten everybody. whales are whales they are who they are, and for all other like the whales just also be your self. If you always keep on thinking about the money that you will get from steemit, your will be just not as genuine as it would be. Thats why i keep on telling to newbies is that just be yourself enjoy the platform and if you earn that will be a bonus. Once again @rossenpavlov thank you for this

Just do what we like...everything good will come :D

Anyway, please follow me back.

hope everything go well.
Please follow me @patricksanlin and upvote. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42