Steem thought - Steemit Post Frequency

in #steemthought8 years ago


Source image

Frequency Limited Posting

Might it be reasonable to make the assumption that it is very difficult to post valuable and original content with a high degree of frequency? If it is reasonable, then we could define a new category (Frequency Limited Posts) that only displays posts from accounts that have committed to posting a maximum number over a certain period of time.

If it was a successful category for generally improving the number and visibility for quality posts, it may then be reasonable to have a full set of existing categories (trending, hot, new, active etc) for posts coming from frequency limited accounts.

The incentive model could be adjusted to make posting less frequent, higher quality content more attractive.

If implemented, this would have no impact upon the other steemit channel where posting can occur at far higher frequencies. Accounts that opt for frequency limitation would not have their commenting or voting limited.

What about daily bloggers with large followings? Their posts will generally be followed and rewarded by followers who already know how to find their content.

Sort:  

I will always vote for you , because you are positive . But I have little SP.

Thank you smolalit! That means a great deal to me. I don't always feel positive :) Your comment means a great deal more to me than SP and always will.

@benjojo that rebuttal to @smolalit tells a lot about your character and theirs, much respect to both of you and you are very positive, many don't take the time to comment back and I respect you much for that also!

so you think 4 post per day is too much or too little?

I was thinking less than a post per day. I would suggest that even those currently crafting high quality posts are spending less time than they might. Also, how Steemers judge quality will potentially change over time as the community gains depth etc. We might be able to accelerate that process by incentivising and highlighting posts that take time to craft/research.

We got to also encourage users to interact more in the comment threads of submissions they like. A quality trending post with 30 comments, 15 of which are spam, makes me sad.

yeah -,- its will be more effectively to distribute steem.....there is a lot of people post their blog everyday and get a huge reward because they are popular :3

This is absolutely true, i always like to leave comments in the posts that i like, but quite often the writers dont even mind leaving a comment and that discourages me to following them

I agree. It helps to distribute steem more effectively, builds connection between Steemers and is a potential source of great value in terms of discussion. If a quality author has only one post in a week, he or she may have more time to participate in the discussions that the post has generated.....though discussions can obviously take place without the main post author taking part.

You consider writing a post about this topic @benjojo? The power you have will rank it higher and more will read and potentially change may come:)

Absolutely. The amount of throw-away comments is frustrating. Sure, I'd like to make a couple of bucks on Steemit, but I also enjoy the content and the experience. And by engaging in the conversations, we are individually doing our part to help Steemit prosper.

Yeah, I don't get it. It's a poor strategy. I have been rewarded so many times just for trying to engage the op or get a discussion going.

Yup, I also think some users don't realize that you can be rewarded in a big way for commenting.

Wow nice comment, you know which is spam... I know it now

nice article ...tnks u

Yes, people need to get into commenting more. I think as Steemit becomes more established, and the bots get taken care of, commenting will improve.

This is already here. You're limited to 4 postings a day before your rewards for the day are penalized. 5th post and your funds are reduced across the board 20%, 6th post it's like 30% etc.
That was the purpose behind the hardfork a couple of days ago.

hi williambanks, although i didn't realize what you describe had been implemented (so thank you for letting me know) I would go further than that. Also, it's about improving the visibility of potentially higher value posts or authors that are being missed. I do appreciate that my suggestion perhaps adds complexity but it could be elegantly implemented and doesn't necessarily need to affect the majority of Steemers.

@benjojo For visibility it might be a good idea for everyone to start implementing #payitforward
This is where you surf steemit, find content that's related or that you like. Post some honest commentary, upvote the bloggers post and let them know that if they want to come to your post and do the same that you will upvote them and explain to your audience what you like about them as well.
Make sure to use #payitforward though so folks know this is a community initiative and not linkspam

I described this system at my good friend @casandrarose 's blog where she has a topic for noobies. Tried it on my own blog and it works really well, kicked several posts into trending today because I got lucky and caught fire.

This way if any one of us rises, we automatically take our friends with us, while making new friends in the process and making it easier for the whales to curate things we actually care about. Give it some thought, let me know. You can drop by any of my blogs any time and ask me to check things out. I promise I'll always give my most honest feedback, long as you return the favor. :)

That's a fantastic initiative! Love it. I think it helps to solve a slightly different issue from the one i'm trying to address, nevertheless, absolutely awesome.

I always support you, vote and comment :)
although it had no effect, but I am happy with your post :D

putriayu, as long as whatever i post has value for you, then i am much more thrilled by your support than the size of your SP.

thank you very much for that, this is really valuable for me :)

you are really a generous ;)

I'm following you, I think that is a good change for steemit, it will do to the people do better post.

I'm really happy you like the idea....though it's clear this isn't the first time it's been raised! I would consider taking it further.


4 post is not much when someone uses the category meme and quite frankly I enjoy them a lot!

No indeed :) But your enjoyment would be the same regardless of the end result in rewards to the author and a higher frequency of meme production does not necessarily increase the chances you will encounter one you enjoy.

Hard for a creative mind not to be creative:) I have found it enjoyable reading all your meme content thus far.

I can't tell you how rewarding it is hear that. Thank you.

For me 4 post per day it is enough.
It is really good idea to make limit. We will have more constructive content.
This is not easy to make good content on steemit, and there is no point in spamming.

Just glanced: all post I upvoted in the last 24 hours were 1 post - 1 author a day.
May the market regulate itself?

That's an interesting observation!

I agree. It will greatly increasing better posting value and discussion with limited posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61