Steem Summit's Poetry Submission Winners

in #steemsummit6 years ago

poetry exhibit winners.jpg

Greetings from the Steem Summit organizers!

Last Tuesday (March 27, 2018), Steem Summit made a call for Poetry Submissions. There are two categories under that submission: English Poetry and Filipino Poetry. The response was overwhelming! There are 15 entries submitted in English Poetry and 11 entries in Filipino Poetry. The organizers would like to thank everyone who submitted their entries. You guys were awesome!

The organizers would also like to thank @donkeypong for his donation in all of the prizes for Steem Summit submissions. Also, the hard work of the panelists who scored and rank the entries based on the criteria should be commended. Thank you panelists! Your names will be revealed on the summit proper.

The scores are tabulated using Google Sheet, so it is readily available for anyone who wishes to contest the winners. It is also available for perusal in the spirit of transparency; a value that the organizers upheld with highest regard. A gentle reminder, the panelists are under no obligation to explain their reason why the winners are chosen to be that way. Besides, the score of each entry is the average of the three total scores given by the panelists. We hope that everyone is on board with this.

Here are the winners of Steem Summit's Poetry Submissions to be showcased in the exhibit:

In English Poetry


CHAMPION: @xaydtrips
Score: 93.00%


Silhouette of a Dancing Man (Original Poetry)

DQmTZQ5Z4ND7vm9YLMQqqPXfU9G6aBJviFFs11c6eYCV3cM.jpeg
Photo from Public Domain

Unrequited love ranks to be the purest but most painful forms of love. In the conquest to pursue the one we love, we often find ourselves in the danger of drifting further away from that person or even entirely lose the chance of being with that loved one. @xaydtrips


FIRST RUNNER UP: @daisydelta
Score: 90.67%


A CRY FOR HUMANITY

U5drnjxj4fPERB2rrRxygtBGBNiWdqh_1680x8400.jpeg
Image Source: wall-street.com

More than abused, I am bruised,
Seeing children crying and confused,
Living in despair and uncertainty,
What happened now to humanity?


SECOND RUNNER UP: @arc.angel
Score: 80.67%


If only, I am | a different side to the story

DQmRPXZ8htmim2Zjv3dPiWciLpSgzt8TmaeAoE5x2F4TMkQ.jpeg
Image courtesy of @arc.angel

We keep wishing for more but sometimes we forget that we are enough.
Hope you were reminded of how great you are.
There is always a better angle to look at life.
Keep it awesome!😊 @arc.angel


SPECIAL MENTION: @morken
Score: 79.67%


Steemsummit Poetry Contest | Official Entry: Boardwalk by @morken

U5dtWXy6w1EfDjoFRukMQnHY3og6PZo_1680x8400.jpeg
Image courtesy of @morken

This poem was inspired by the real story of my friend Ms. Ardey Cornelio who is a single mother right now. She has my full respect knowing how she have raised her child Audrie alone. @morken



In Filipino Poetry


CHAMPION: @janicemars
Score: 94.67%


Official Entry for Steem Summit's Call for Poetry

DQmXVqeaStrSnKmQPUpomQBmQgAkz5rAJVcd6Nr36SLgXHi.jpeg
Image Source: https://events.umich.edu/event/33033

I'm sharing to you one of my very personal poems. It took me a lot of courage to write this. I have been struggling with self acceptance all my life. I knew I was n't straight since I was 15. I just recently came out and received mixed reactions. Unfortunately, some of my family members were not pleased. I went down from being "the best daughter" to "such a disgrace" real quick. But if there is one thing that I truly regret, that is not coming out sooner. Life is happier when you're honest about who you are. I did lose some people, but those were the toxic ones. Now I am cultivating a healthier circle, full of love and acceptance. Being honest with yourself attracts the right and genuine people in your life. @janicemars


FIRST RUNNER UP: @japh
Score: 90.00%


Steemsummit Filipino Poetry Entry: "Larawan"

DQmSECBmUeisNSAD827v3bwNtSfEFyi4jTTyY1TPQ6pKADt.png
Image Source: unsplash.com

Nag-iisa at napakabigat ang damdamin.
Ano bang nangyari sa pangako natin?
Pangako sa isa't isa na ako'y sa iyo at ika'y akin
Ay nawala nang bigla at walang anumang bilin.


SECOND RUNNER UP: @jemzem
Score: 89.67%


Simbolismo ng Buhay - Filipino Poetry (Entry to Steemsummit's Poetry Exhibit)

DQmU7wkM9BxPAnT3i54AzCJEGPRrXXAD2bbZ5DmqJubLXGY.jpeg
Image Source: pixabay.com

Ang buhay ay parang araw.
Minsan ay batid natin ang titig nitong nakatutunaw.
Nagbibigay ito ng labis na init na sa atin ay nakakapanakit,
ngunit piliin na lamang nating umiwas sa sikat nitong nag-aaklas.
Kapag tayo’y magbababad sa init nitong mabangis,
manunuot sa ating kaibuturan ang hapding nagtatangis.



Congratulations to the winners!


The rewards were already sent to their respective accounts. Please refer to the screenshot below.
For English Poetry Winners:

IMG_20180405_234208.jpgIMG_20180405_234129.jpg

For Filipino Poetry:

IMG_20180405_234150.jpg

Exhibit Manager's Note: The winners were all deserving! They showcased something that invokes emotion and their poetic expression was clear and on-point. I quoted those lines that made their work remarkable.

See you all on April 22, 2018 at ASPACE CEBU, Crossroads, Cebu City, Philippines!

Banner.jpg


Special thanks to @donkeypong, @kryptonia, and @maefe30 for their special contribution to the event's success!


This announcement of winners in Poetry submissions was written by @ybanezkim26 (Steem Summit's Overall Head and Exhibit Manager). All designs and branding by @legendarryll (Steem Summit's Creative Director).

Steem Summit Organizers:
@honeyletsgo
@legendarryll
@thegaillery
@ybanezkim26

Sort:  

oh wow! thank you for choosing my write up. I write stuff on steemit to express but this actually gave me the opportunity to share it. Thank you again and best of luck on the event!

Awesome write-ups, congrats to all winners!!

From this post I can say they really deserve the to be winners, the poems struck me.

A big congratulations to the winners

Wow! Congratulations to all the winners! You deserve it much! Thank you to steemsummit organizers for this opportunity. Keep inspiring! Keep steeming!

Congratulations to the winners! Great Job!

congratulations to the winners, good luck always

Congratulations to the winners!

By the way @steemsummit can I resteem this instead of the art post because it's past 7 days so I qualify for the art contest? I already submitted two entries. Sorry if it's last minute. I hope it still gets reviewed by the judges.

Yes you can, @artgirl! Rest assured that it will be reviewed by the judges. Today is the last deadline so you're still good. Thank you for your submissions. Just comment it on the link of the original call for submissions in art.

Alright thanks! I think I want to submit another one. Hahahaha.

congratulations!

Thank you so much for this honor! This made me so happy. More power! Congratulations everyone! It is so nice to see such talented people here!

I sucked at poetry. I really tried something that I'm not into, so then ill stop posting and participating in poetry contest from now on. Reading the poems of the winners made me tell that "this isn't for me" . Hahaha, I dont even know if my entry was considered poetry 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73