You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facticity (continued)

in #steemstem7 years ago

Why do you equate a lack of replies as a lack of support? Was the number of views high? Because if it wasn't, then as @dedicatedguy stated, it could be that no one saw it.

Could it be possible that the title was not appealing? Or that you have not built up a community following yet? Was it possible that the writing was difficult to follow or the argument difficult to understand? Who was your target and how do you know if they saw it?

In a world of information overload, it is easy to be missed or misunderstood. If you don't get views, I would start with title and followers. If you get views without replies, then I would look at the readability and comprehension. And if you feel you have nailed all of those, I would suggest you think about who your audience is and how to best approach them.

Hope that helps!

Sort:  

"In a world of information overload, it is easy to be missed or misunderstood."

Sixty-three views; no replies. Does everybody understand postmodern epistemology very well already, or or they uninterested for one reason or another?

Of course I forgive you, yvesoler, for your attack on my character. I understand what you were thinking, and I believe that you meant no harm (just sharing your opinion!) but I'm naturally hurt by your broadside ad hominem accusation. Obviously, I'm not seeing any beneficial effect of that particular remark.

"Misunderstood" is the story of my life, but I believe that nobody can understand anything completely, and that my discourse is anathema to most people. I came here to learn how to ameliorate that phenomenon (if possible...).

Whatever the reasons for my failure (we can't know them for sure!) I'm disappointed in myself. I've spent my life learning stuff, not just for myself, but to support others in figuring things out, and I've found that the most important aspects of coherent thinking and social flourishing are of interest to a very small proportion of educated people, who aren't terrified of being wrong about their most precious beliefs. Others are cognitively paralyzed, stuck in their closed worlds of meanings.

Nothing personal! I'm stuck; we're all more or less stuck with our histories, and some of us are working more or less hard to dig ourselves out of our holes and into a better (more fulfilling and more flourishing, but as yet unimagineable) future.

Thank you for talking to me again. I appreciate what you've said (most of it!!)

I do appreciate all the support I can get, if someone wants to support my work, but I'm wondering who might be interested in discussing the principles of comprehension, analysis, and explanation.

Apparently steemstemites have been immunized from those conversations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63