You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ageing as a disease: The WHO considers attacking The Dragon Tyrant

in #steemstem6 years ago

Unfortunately, I saw this too late for an upvote to count--something that I think should be corrected on steem, because it discourages quality content. While I fully support treating aging as a disease, I don't think our society is anywhere near ready for it. Your post immediately reminded me of the thought-experiment portrayed in Torchwood's 4th season, Miracle Day, in which a mysterious event suddenly means that no one dies. I thought the series did a great job of imagining the consequences of life without death. Our society, planet, and economy would not fare well. At this stage, we cannot even figure out (or at least rationally vote for) approaches that will stem the poverty and growing income inequality that we have already. Now imagine more and more people without limit. If we rationally addressed the issues, we could probably make it work, but Brexit, the election of Trump, the fact that people actually believe FOX News, and the vast number of people who would cling to superstitious beliefs, suggests that we don't have a chance. I'm afraid our technology has greatly outpaced our cognitive development.

Sort:  

No problem, yes some way to reward evergreen content would be handy like you say. Although I am likely the; have an idea, write an idea, print mentality of writing for now. I feel its making me less precious with what I write.

Ha yes, I remember that series of Torchwood, that was super dark (also the children being drugs one before that was pretty heavy from memory). Yes, that would be terrifying but the pushing healthy life forward would be very different, especial if we start with the low hanging fruit (e.g. malaria/infectious diseases). I think your right, social change would slow down as the main pushes are usually generational like you say. So how about this, you’re allowed to live as long as you like however you have to move with the times, the moment you say ‘kids these days!’ you’re out Logan's Run style. Sound good?

I suspect this would have to be tied to not having kids. Ultimately, the resources would run out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35