You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cool things we do with Satellites #6 : Near real-time detecting of oil spills worldwide

in #steemstem7 years ago

Okay Fredrik.. I now have to look up the other parts. I did not expect this application at all! It prevents so many powerful companies to cover up their big leaks when applied right! Lovely read mate


t.

Sort:  

It can do a lot more than you would think :) the precision at which SAR satellites can detect changes are quite impressive. glad you liked it!

I knew that about aerial photography which a befriended pilot use to tell me about...
But I wasn't expecting that these tremendously distant "cameras" to be able to do the same. I kind of took the movie references of them to be how CIA get to "enhance" security camera video, which suddenly enables them to read a numberplate of 100m away, etc.
Great to see they did get it more straight in regards to satellites.

I am sorry that you had to talk about satellites with someone who's mayor knowledge came from movies... sight


t.

I don't think of satellites as cameras, more as sensors. We get information beyond what the human eye can see from parts of the electromagnetic spectrum that our eyes are not sensitive to. So we can discover a lot that we would not be able to see otherwise.

  • Most images are renditions of the obtained data and not still-images.

That where the " " were for! ^^
Tnx for responding Fredrik!


t.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62708.03
ETH 2457.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62