You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish the following sentence: The MMR vaccine causes [BLANK]

in #steemstem6 years ago

Ah, yes. The Wakefield story once again. I once edited a book for a client who believed that vaccines cause [blank], and his proof was the Wakefield study.

As much as I told him that the paper was retracted, Wakefield was charged with fraud, and got his medical licence revoked, this bloke refused to correct his content. Stubborn old man.

Well, I don't know if he published his book yet, but I stood by the facts. Even after him counter-arguing so many times, I did not change my mind. I just kept telling him that he's using false "facts" for his book. After a few exchanges, he never talked to me again.

Goes to show how utterly stubborn some people can be even when presented with sound science facts right in front of their noses. Which is why we as science communicators must continue to reiterate these things over and over, no matter how tired we are of talking/writing about it. Three cheers to you @nonzerosum 😎

Sort:  

Ah then you know the struggle well! How interesting, that must have put you in an awkward position, I'm guessing you didn't get paid in the end?

Hopefully it will die out in time, it seems to be moving this way in the UK. That said we seemed to have exported it all over the world in the time being.

Thanks for the comment, and I saw you resteemed the post as well, awesome thank you so much!

Thankfully I did get paid. But i still can't help worrying that the book was published with that false information within :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69158.00
ETH 3746.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68