You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: High Fructose Corn Syrup- The Obesity Sugar

in #steemstem7 years ago

This was such a great read! I ate a very sad standard american diet for the first couple of decades and dealt with (morbid) obesity for most of my life. My mother, the meal preparer, wanted us to be healthy, so she followed the "healthy" fad diet, low-fat. Which just means more sugars. A child of the 90s, I probably ate so much food dye and HFCS that my insides are partially fruit-by-the-foot, so I was always hungry, so my caloric intake was way too much just to stay feeling full (or awake from the inevitable crash after my body burned through the sugar). I cook for my partner whose body does not manage fructose well and this helps clarify a bit further as to the "why".

Fortunately, I have always been active and had a decent protein intake so I have been saying that I was doing a "dirty bulk" for my first quarter century and now I'm finally doing my cutting phase haha. Now eating a higher fat and plant ratio, I can feel satisfied on the appropriate amount of calories my body needs and with a reasonable calorie deficit, my body is eating up my excess fat nicely. I am likely going to be sharing my journey, on a one year delay, to show people what the weekly commitment looks like for improving body composition and health. The change in my belly fat has been unreal.

Thanks for always providing well-referenced health content, a lot of pseudoscience floating around in nutrition.

Sort:  

​It is heartwarming and inspiring to hear about your progress. So many people lack the courage to change their diets, especially when they have lived a certain way for a long time. You must post about the journey you are currently on. I think your testimonials will help a lot of people gain the strength to embark on the same path. I would certainly enjoy reading your story.

It sounds to me that you are following a more ancestral type diet? If so, you should take a listen to the Robb Wolf Podcast. He is an authority in the nutrition space and has been extremely valuable in expanding my knowledge on nutrition.

Thank you for your kind words and time. I hope to continue adding well researched, health-related, information to the steemit community.

I appreciate the encouragement. It took a bit to get to this point but I haven't been weighing or measuring myself, as I was getting too impatient with watching my water weight go up and down. I started a dedicated approach march 1st of last year and I think I will just run it parallel and use the pictures/experiences I have been collecting to share a story. I figured it would be motivating to show the "after"(I won't be finished, though!) with the before and then when I finish with that year, I can show yet another years progress out! Thanks for the returned inspiration!! :)

And I am actually following a lower carb, high healthy fats, as much plant based as I can. I just recently started cutting out dairy, as cheese got me through some serious carb withdrawals when I started haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57