Sci-Curious | Project 2 : Perpetual fan

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Since the first Sci-curious project 'Make the Deserts green' was such a roaring success amongst the highly skilled SteemStem crowd, so much so I could barely keep up with answering the comments and my VP is shot from voting on all of the off-shoot posts developing the idea (read close to 0 engagement, mostly spam comments, 0 posts linked), I thought it was time for another.

For this one I thought I would simplify it down to just one very little idea: A perpetual motion fan.

The basic concept I have is a fan that has magnets attached to the blades and a crankshaft of some kind with a a piston and another magnet. The idea is that when the fan spins, the piston or cam is timed to push a magnet closer and draw it away from the blade magnets and by using the repelling forces, spin the blade. As the fan speeds up, the pulsing of the driving magnet syncs through the cam.

Diagram:

The idea is to be able to have some kind of passive fan that can draw air through it without using electricity. This may not be possible perhaps so instead, minimise electricity requirements. It could be potentially an electromagnet timed to pulse on and off at the right moment to keep the fan spinning (at least while the electricity is on).

The size and materials are unknown but, I would assume the fan has to be relatively light to be able to get enough speed from the magnetic forces. I have no idea how strong the repelling forces of magnets can get.

Outline questions:

  • Can it be done without introduced energy?
  • Could the fan create enough energy to pulse the driving magnet?
  • How large could it practically be?
  • What kinds of speeds could it get?
  • What level of suction is possible if it is housed in a tube?

I think this is in some ways easier and in some ways harder than the first project that we worked on together to essentially solve the expansion of the deserts and return them to lush forests whilst simultaneously feeding the hungry and providing them with an additional income source, as it is just one component.

Perhaps it is for the maths people and engineers this time to do some calculations? I am pretty sure that I am going to once again be inundated with responses and a myriad spawned posts that will soon get a test model up and running so, bear with slow response times.

As an incentive: I will reward the first 2 decent response posts linked to this project with a full upvote (currently around 7 dollars but who knows what it will be tomorrow, a million? 8 cents?) which may draw at least someone with a little mathematical ability in for some fun.

Remember, tag steemstem and sci-curious

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Link to the concept of Sci-curious

Sort:  

No, this is not possible. There is a reason why perpetual motion is not possible, and that is because energy is what it is, it's neither created nor destroyed just changes forms. Perpetual motion requires that new energy be created out of nothing (as all motion is driven by energy). Even pulsing something as you describe above would use energy, and the net gain in motion of your ascribed fan would be canceled out by the energy used in pulsing the electro magnet.

This idea and request, like all perpetual motion devices just is not possible.

Just make a fan, and focus on powering it from renewable sources like the sun. That is as close as we can get to free energy.

I did say it is not possible so to use as little energy as possible instead.

Just wanted someone to actually calculate stuff and make a post about it rather than just take things they have learned from a book and regurgitate it as I think it would be interesting to read how people may approach these things and actually problem solve the best they can. Even a post describing possibilities for alternatives would have be more interesting than reading about year ten science class topics.

These are meant for a bit of fun yet it seems there is no creative fun to be had.

Even a post describing possibilities for alternatives would have be more interesting than reading about year ten science class topics.

Can't say I agree with you.

@tarazkp the concept you are trying to present is not possible in your describe scenario. If we took into consideration magnetic field loss due to air gap and friction, the system will not attain the so called "perpetual motion". Other than what I mentioned earlier, first law of thermodynamic which is "Conservation of Energy" is still absolute right now. Then, where could this concept be possible? If you confined this system in a vacuum sealed confinement and with a super-charge electromagnet that can produce a strong magneto-motive force, this concept will work to attain perpetual motion by cosidering a friction-less rotation at vacuum. However, generation of electricity will be out in question. #steemstem #sci-curiosity
I hope you could visit my blog @juecoree. I do have engineering tutorials posted from time to time..

Thanks for being the one to give at least a decent answer :) So I will visit your blog. I don't remember saying it would need to generate electricity, but if it could produce enough to pulse a magnet. I was more interested in the airflow it could create.

The perpetual motion part was actually just clickbait for you nerds.

Thanks for taking the time and hopefully it made you think something you weren't thinking about thinking today ;)

Yes It made me think if its possible. Perpetual motion concept is around the corner for some time, practical means to use it is not develop yet.

I will eat my dick if somebody makes this or any other type of perpetual device. How's that for a decent response ? :D

I would require a post (pictures are NOT recommended) for a full vote :P

I did say that it is likely going to need some electricity.. It was a nerd clickbait title. Welcome :D

👏👏👏

Some of the machines made historically have been petty hilarious scams, genius in themselves in that regard. Could be worth me doing a post exploring those scams in some way. But yeah the best we can probably get is fusion (on earth or the sun), or repurposing wasted energy like, say, wind energy from our breath... lol

I am in the midst of inventing a kinetic keyboard that generates electricity as I type. I am pretty sure I will be able to mine Bitcoin with the output. I am looking for investors.

Infinite fan rotation. Magnets attached to vanes attract metallic clips fixed on the next vane, creating a rotational motion

Why would it spin? They would just attract. And sit there. No motion.

If you make a decent post about it you can share it here :)

my darling electrical engineer
he is very knowledgeable :)

Is he on Steemit yet?

his job is very busy

Ughh give me 2 days to research some stuff. My guess is that it would not create enough force and thus not enough work. It's interesting to think about though.

I think this could be used to create a source of electricity. I am not a builder, just a thinker. The constant motion could be harnessed as a form of energy like the huge fans they have that create" wind" energy. Perhaps a small mobile way gadget that can be plugged into for lighting or whatever. Cool idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80