SteemSTEM, Us and Them: A challenge for the Sci-curious.

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Personally, I am scientifically, technologically, engineeringly and mathematically handicapped but, this doesn't stop me from having potentially brilliant ideas. It doesn't stop me from having truly awful ones either.

There seems to be lots of knowledgeable people hanging around in the SteemStem areas so I have decided to set those willing a challenge. When it comes to innovation, it is very, very difficult to really know what spark ignited a fire and even in hindsight this is difficult.

How many stupid ideas catalysed good ideas? How many concepts were largely thrown away but a detail was developed into something great? How many times did one person find value and ran with it while others discounted an idea as worthless? Who knows, but what I know is that we have a blockchain to track it.

The plan is simple:

  • I propose a very rough idea on something (perhaps some diagrams)
  • Those interested can create a post developing it further
  • Link back to the original/comment in original
  • People can then develop the linked posts also and spiral outwards
  • See what happens

The idea is that we may be able to get an organic project team together that develops ideas along the traceable blockchain that perhaps one day leads to their creation in some form or another. Wouldn't it be cool if together we could solve some real-world problems, that Steem becomes an incubator of developers?

Some of the ideas may seem immediately trashable but, I ask that you try anyway. Write a post explaining why, investigate and propose alternatives, see what it requires to take a bad idea and make it good. It is STEM after all, use what skills you have to pick apart some part of it to see if you can get it working. Put down your knowing hat and be curious instead.

In any one idea there may be many parts that require development across multiple disciplines. There may be components you are familiar with coupled with some you are not or areas where solutions already exist in some form but could be better. Run with them, challenge your skills, play a lot.

Remember, I am STEM impaired so much of what people may propose or explain goes over my head but, my hope is that people will actively interact in the comments sections below mine and the various posts connected. Perhaps some ideas collide to make something awesome.

There are lots of professionals and hobbyists claiming a range of skills, so why not build a community of thinkers, creators and innovators that share their knowledge and abilities to potentially make this world a better place? Perhaps it gives the chance for people who are unable to get traditional access the possibility to play, learn and connect to make their local situation a little better.

Maybe it is just for a little bit of fun where people can challenge themselves and each other through problem solving, try their hand at using their skills, think outside of their experience and interact with their peers whilst talking about common goals. Rather than just providing information in the SteemSTEM tag on what is already known, how about we see if we can create some new knowledge. Who know what may come out of it, who knows who you might connect with a long the journey?

What do you think? Game?

I am going to tag them SteemStem hoping that people from the various disciplines see it and participate, and Sci-curious to collect them all together. For those taking part, I hope that you will make posts worthy of being supported by the SteemStem team and prepare and reference accordingly, and really give them something interesting and worthy to read. Perhaps they will find some brilliant new authors to support a little.

If interested, you might want to spread the word occasionally or add mentions in your posts as to why you are doing it. When it comes to building a valuable community, the more the merrier I think.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I think steem will evolve to also facilitate open innovation in a framework that can be uniquely supported by the blockchain. It is one of the goals that I have anyways.

Me too. I think there are many opportunities for educational support also. Perhaps combined with https://pevo.science/ in the future. Decentralised, borderless learning. There are so many areas yet to come that can fundamentally shift our world. But, I am an idealist at times, definitely not a scientist.

Oh, that's great idea! Brainstorming is ever worth. I like to discuss and produce new ideas and also have something to show for your judging :)

Welcome. I will try and post the first challenge tonight :)

This kinda reminds me of my days as a Graphic Designer when we would all work as a team to generate the most exciting, considered and best solution to a clients brief. I was always good for ideas but ropey at seeing them through and that is where other team members would step in and up. Exciting proposition me thinks; after-all teamwork makes the Dreamwork!" xox

Let's see how it goes. I think it could be fun if people get involved regardless of what gets put onto the table.

Voted to help with your visibility

Thank you very much :)

I have no idea what Steem Stem is but it sounds like a great idea from you which will hopefully lead to many more from others. There are no stupid questions (so I keep telling myself) or ideas. If they lead to improved ones they have served a purpose. I'll check it out but I'm already thinking it will be beyond me , so that's probably not the best start. :)

I think everyone will be able to play a little here :)

Resteemed, but I kind of expected your first idea to be in this post, where is it??

On the way!

I like puzzles. Bring the idea. Actually, I was expecting the first one right here in the post.

15 minutes. Easy start for you perhaps.

This idea like any other idea has potential that is difficult to assess at the beginning. Let’s start. My only issue is that if someone has a workable plan, they would want to patent the idea and people may want to be protective.

At least at the beginning, I don't think it will be a problem ;)

Hello @tarazkp
This is a brilliant idea. The creative minds on stem coming together to brainstorm and create something exceptional. I like Sci-curious. I'm not that talented in STEM, still a student, but will try to be part of this endeavor.

Waiting for your first idea. Maybe others too can share theirs along with yours.


@learnandteach01

I like the idea, I too am STEM challenged, but it does not mean all my ideas are bad ones. I love what if questions and searches and speculation on old, new, and not yet invented tech. So this will be a fun thing to follow I think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44