Deadly Daddy Long Legs Part 1: What Is A Daddy Long Legs?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

This is Part 1 of a 3 part series. When you’re finished with this article, check out Part 2: Opiliones - Harvestmen... Of SOULS? and Part 3: Pholcidae - Does Death Await You In The Basement? (coming soon)

It is a commonly held belief that daddy long legs is the most venomous spider in the world, but its fangs are too small or too weak to break human skin. Is this true? Before we can tackle this question, we first need to come to a consensus: when you think of a daddy long legs, what do you imagine?

This?

Or This?

Both of the creatures pictured above are known colloquially as a daddy long legs, although I am not sure where the ambiguity comes from. My first thought was that it may have something to do with regional vernacular, but I haven’t been able to find any information on the subject. I guess it just depends on what you heard growing up. Personally, I always called the thing on the left a daddy long legs, and the thing on the right was just a spider. What I refer to as daddy long legs is actually a harvestman, and the image on the right is a cellar spider.

So, What’s The Difference?


To the casual observer, both of these specimen look like spiders. I mean, they both have eight legs, right? (Although, the harvestman was missing a leg.) In reality, these two little animals couldn’t possibly be much more different. They are both arachnids, but they are not both spiders. Most people assume that the term “arachnid” refers only to spiders, which is understandable since it is derived from the Greek word arakhne, which means spider. However, the class Arachnida also includes other 8 legged creatures like scorpions, ticks, mites, and solpugids, as well as our harvestman.

All spiders are found within the order Araneae. Key features that distinguish them from other arachnids are their general body design, fangs attached to venom glands, and spinnerets that produce silk. Harvestmen are found within the order Opiliones. Here in North America, we are only accustomed to seeing the long legged variety, but you might be surprised to learn that not all Opiliones have such disproportionate appendages. Some, especially in more tropical locations, have much shorter legs. However, since this article is about daddy long legs, we’ll leave their shorter legged cousins for another discussion.

A close side-by-side examination of a cellar spider and a harvestman reveals several key differences between the two that illustrate how they are so distantly related. Both have two body segments (cephalothorax and abdomen), but in spiders those segments are visibly separated by a thin section called a pedicel. In the harvestman, the boundary between cephalothorax and abdomen is not easily seen. Additionally, the body of the harvestman is segmented, and it has two eyes instead of the 6 or 8 found on most spiders.

So, these are the suspects. Tomorrow we will take a more in-depth look at the harvestman to find out if this odd looking creature possesses the most powerful venom in the world.

* All photos taken using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II (with a cheap screw on macro adapter); post processing performed using Darktable

Sort:  

I really want to upvote but you're missing any kind of source for your pictures and information (aside from the link to the Greek word). Steemit is filled with plagiarism, if you want to stand out from the crowd there is nothing better than crediting your pictures amd citing your sources!

I appreciate your gentle response. Until I figured out how to properly use Markdown, I missed citing some pictures. In part, I had them in my folders for so long, I did not know the source. That was a bit frustrating; so I did fresh pictures.

That's okay, just try crediting in the future :)

Concerning markdown, I highly recommend hackmd.io which is an online markdown editor with buttons for the most important things. You can also share a link to your work in progress with others which can be pretty useful.

I'm using it for all my posts before I paste them into the steemit editor!

Both photos are my own; I just forgot to put the text in at the bottom. Most of the information is just stuff I knew, but I'm sure I could find some sources for it. I didn't want to go too deep into either creature, because I am doing a feature on both of them over the next couple of days.

Thank you for the feedback! I'll go in and fix the photo credits and find a few sources.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Neat, I've been meaning to learn more about these little guys for years!

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted !

By the way ,I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
please visit my blog and vote me too

Very interesting post. I want to nominate it to our daily compilation at @ocd. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Yes, that would be cool!

*Edited to include photo credits and other citations.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49