You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #31 - Metatrichia vesparium - Behold Some Serious Slime Mold Weirdness

in #steemstem7 years ago

Wow, fantastic photography, info and insights. You must have studied a long time to become so informed.

Sort:  

Thank you for sayong that - but this whole blog is really a form of journaling about my learning experiences. When i find a new species I try to become as informed as possible about it - but the extent of my general knowledge is only in its infancy. Plus, although I make efforts to avoid mistakes, they definitely happen all the time. I try to fix such issues when they arise by cross referencing my posts with other specialized communities who enjoy the subject matter.

Well, I have to say I was very impressed and I have always wanted to do some foraging but was unsure of so many berries and shrooms that I get nervous and stick to the grocery store or grow it myself. I am an avid grower for over 45 years and love it. Love to take care of my family in an old fashioned manner.

Actuakly, I'm the same way - I almost never eat my foraged finds. Even as I become more knowledgable i still can't bring myself to eat them. That's why my disclaimers are so huge and why I generally dont talk about edibility. I like to learn about these things - but outside of emergency i'll stick to more conventional foodstuffs.

I so agree and don't blame you on that decision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43