You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A breakthrough in astrophysics - observation of a first powerful engine to accelerate cosmic rays

in #steemstem6 years ago

I believe it was these neutrinos coming from TXS 0506+056 that was vaguely called "Ghost Particles". Now I've gotten a better insight in this.

But I want to ask: Going with the fact that billions of these neutrinos (if not trillions) pass through us; since they are virtually everywhere; does it pose any health threat to us? I mean - are cosmic rays detrimental to health?

Thanks for sharing sir

Sort:  

I believe it was these neutrinos coming from TXS 0506+056 that was vaguely called "Ghost Particles". Now I've gotten a better insight in this.

Yes, neutrinos are often called ghost particles because they are so weakly interacting they just go through anything. And this is why it is so hard to detect them.

But I want to ask: Going with the fact that billions of these neutrinos (if not trillions) pass through us; since they are virtually everywhere; does it pose any health threat to us? I mean - are cosmic rays detrimental to health?

No health issue at all for the same reason they are so weakly interacting. The probability they will interact with our body is just extremely close to zero. And if they do (this may happen 10-15 times on a lifetime I guess; I remember vaguely the number but I didn't calculate it myself), they will just be absorbed.

Otherwise, we should just use human neutrino detectors :D

Otherwise, we should just use human neutrino detectors :D

Lol, yeah you're right. There wouldn't be need for the Icecube detector if the human body can detect that.

Thanks for the kind reply sir

My pleasure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65