Let's Cultivate... Crystals! (Part 1)

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

I know the title sounds weird, crystal cultivation, but don't think that we are planting crystal seeds in a pot and expect to get some crystal plants. I'm talking about a cool series, KidzLabs, that has all kind of STEM-related kits that make the perfect gift for young and, why not, older children (and by older I mean adults like me). 

Browsing through the Internet I found this set:

And I could not miss the chance of buying it (a woman's consuming addiction is not confined in shoes and clothes).

The kit came two days after my order. It cost a little less than 15€ (~18 USD) and had three types of crystal growing ingredients: A glow-in-the-dark moon crystal cluster, an aquamarine crystal and a crystal snow tree. 

I bought mine from a greek e-shop, but I saw that Amazon sells the same package for 70$!! If you want to get one too, do some better searching first.

The box also contained a stirring spoon and bowl and three bowls for each crystal to grow in. 

There was also a base for the snow tree and another one for the moon crystal.

All you need to get from your "lab" is a bowl with hot water, an apron, your protective gloves and glasses... oh! I almost forgot and lots, lots of enthusiasm!

Basic concepts we are taught 

Crystals: 

Solids made from atoms in a systematic and repeating internal structure. 

Crystal climbing:

Liquid gets into the tiny gaps of air and crystal flakes start forming as the liquid evaporates. This movement of the liquid is also known as capillary action.

Why does water helps them grow:

The hot water breaks down the crystal powder and we are left with a saturated solution (satured because further stirring won't help the powder into dissolving any more). As the water gradually cools down and evaporates, the particles from the powder start joiing together in an organised way forming crystal shapes. 

What makes the moon crystal glow:

Although there are fluorescent crystals in nature, the moon crystal glows in the dark because there is a glowing pigment in its chemical components. The glowing pigment shines its light through the transparent crystals just like an optic fibre.


I haven't had the time to experiment yet, but I'll be putting my protective gloves on pretty soon, so stay tuned! I can't wait to decorate my desk with them!

*All the information above is a summary of the instruction paper that was in the kit.
* Images by @ruth-girl.
 

Thank you very much for being here and reading this! Your support is what helps me move forward!

 Some of my most recent posts:

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people! 

Sort:  

hey! we need a video!

Supported from pal discord.

The videos are coming in the next parts!

Thanks for reading :)

My husband and son did this a little while a go and he absolutely loved seeing how the crystals grew.

I am excited to see mine grow too...
Thanks for reading!

You should also show us the results! :)

I will in the next parts :)

Great, I'll watch out for that! :)

In the school where my kid goes, they are doing it!!! I was soooo surprised to see it! It is a forest school with kids from 3-10 years old! They also grow water animals, earth animals and all kind of INTERESTING Life knowledge!

Great kit! I Have no idea how to grow crystals myself, I must say :)

It sounds like a really cool school!! Where is it?

I really love the unique stuff you get your hands on:)
Super excited to see how they grow:)

Stay tuned!!!!
Thanks for reading @zest!! :)

I like these crystals... Wouldn't mind getting it

You can ordee it online ;)

How do I order for my own kit? :)
Hope it's not meant for kids alone? xD

This is the link to the product, you can check it on e-shops that deliver in your area or you may find it in toy stores ;)
https://www.4m-ind.com/product/crystal-science/

wow !! thats amazing your all post is very intrusting

Thank you :)

I hope we would get to see the pictures of the crystals on your desk :)

I like crystals too.

Thank you! :)

wow keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49