You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving between absolute thrills and deadly boredom - sounds familiar? Then you might need a little exercise in finding middle ground - a nice resolution for 2018.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Interesting! Hm... wonder how I can use this for myself. One of my biggest "problems" is, that I never have enough time to do all the things I want to (or should) do. If I do this thingy on top of it, it sorta adds to the problem even more... Will have to think about it for a while!

Happy New Year for you too 🎆

Sort:  

oops, I almost have overseen your comment!

The thingy is a nice practice tool once you got it fully. I make it really also for fun. And it helps all the time a little bit to push me in the right direction.

The "problem" sounds to me as to set priorities, which can be thought of wanting to much = greed

Square would be - here starting with a problem not with a virtue (though I do not think, that you really got this problem but are just nice and give me another chance to practice:-)

greed

= do things, see things, make & consume things too much)
---> direction of development: learn to let go, to be humble, to be content with less =

modesty

---> exaggeration would be: give away too much, sacrifice also what is needed for the self=

profligacy (Exzess)

---> direction of development would be: provide for the necessary provisions, gathering and consumption =

desire (care)

Now, if you would have started with "desire" it would have been difficult as is not necessarily regarded as a virtue or is understood differently. So it always is good to check, if the square comes out logically and the terms you choose at least have a certain meaning which must not fit for others, too.

Ah... 😨 ha....

Of course, a big thank you for writing this up for me in such detail!!

Not so sure, I understand. I really do have the problem, but its mostly related to my work. Since my technique is very slow and time consuming, I have a hard time meeting my deadlines... and it leaves little time for some fun stuff, like commenting here :-)

I wouldn't consider greed being the driving force for an artist.. hm 🤔

Looks like I'm going to have to print this whole post out (so I can write notes on it), read a couple of times to hopefully understand it.. and get frustrated, because the work on my paintings gets delayed 😱

Lol.. if you never thought, you needed a therapist, talk to one. They'll find a reason, why you do! 😉 (I mean that jokingly)

Don't do that. I really do not think, that you have a problem with that. When you are consumed by work and your art is REALLY time consuming, I would never consider the above.

Sorry, I did not want to be confusing (!).

I know you now a little while and I would in no way indicate that greed is in play with you. That would be quite presumptuous of me. Sometimes we have such an easy and humorous way of talking that I got it probably wrong that you wanted to pick up on my method here. Please excuse me.

:-)) blehh... I really also do not like when a dentist always finds something. So I totally understand- LOL I am saying often: I have the goal of making me "überflüssig".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67