Procrastilearner's Style Guide For Science and Technology PostssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

This is a style guide that I am writing for STEM bloggers. I have written this guide to build a bit on the main Steemstem style guide.

I think that writing science, health and technology is a fun activity. I use blogging to help me learn new topics, crystallize my understanding of a topic that I already know or just for the joy of sharing some knowledge with other people on the net.

A science post is not a scientific article so the rules are more relaxed but there are still rules (and laws) that govern this activity.

Don't Plagiarize

Use you own words when writing a topic and don't simply copy or spam someone else's work. This is the internet. You will get caught either by a human or a computer. Having said that, I find that @cheetah is still not perfect so don't be shy to flag it's comments on your posts when it has wrongly targeted you.

Remember that it is okay to quote someone verbatim if you found that someone else has wordsmithed a perfect sentence to describe something difficult or subtle concept. Just make sure that you use the ">" sign and reference the author. For example:

Quantum entanglement is a physical phenomenon which occurs when pairs or groups of particles are generated or interact in ways such that the quantum state of each particle cannot be described independently of the state of the other(s), even when the particles are separated by a large distance—instead, a quantum state must be described for the system as a whole. - Sourced from Wikipedia

Or you can use this inline style:

"You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life." a quote from Winston Churchill found via the Brainyquote.com website.

Spelling, Grammar and Typos

Typos are a fact of writing life. You will make them and they are forgivable but at the very least proof read your article before hitting that post button.

I like to proof read the markdown text first and then proofread the preview text. After I post the article I proof read the published article one more time and fix any overlooked style, grammar or spelling errors.

Paragraphs and White Space

Try not to write a wall of text. Glowing screens are hard to read and most people's eyes need more white space than they would for something printed on paper.

You will notice in this post that I break my paragraphs up more often than I would if I were writing a paper printed report. This makes it easier on your readers.

Formatting and Style

Markdown has many tricks. Use them to improve your formatting and style.

My favourite is the one where you can flow text around an image. You do this with these html tags:

Personality

Do be too dry. Don't be afraid to be you. Use some humour or personal quirkiness. Make use of your life experience to help explain a topic.

Science is not dead or dull so don't make it that way.

Article Length

Okay let's be realistic, this is the internet. Our attention spans have been destroyed so I like to keep my STEM posts to between 3 and 5 screen pages in length (excepting this guide). Very few people will want to read a topic for longer than that.

You can break your article into two or three posts and publish them over a course of a few days. This has the benefit of letting you focus more intensely on one aspect of your topic.

Always make sure that you link back to your older related posts so the reader can go to them if interested.

Making a few related posts over the course of a few days is NOT bounty chasing if done with the above described intent in mind.

Properly Cite Your Image and Its License

Copyright issues are now a huge thing on the internet and each country has it laws on the matter. Always make sure to use a full description of the image license.

I like to embed my citations right into the image along the bottom border. It is easy to do and does not need sophisticated image software. In fact, I usually use Microsoft Paint for the task.

A Fair Use Disclaimers Can Be Helpful

Pasting a fair use disclaimer at the bottom of your post can be helpful to let your readers clearly know the intention of your image and video use.

Being from Canada the statutes from my country apply the most to me and I sometimes use the disclaimer below if I can't find a source to credit or a free-for-reuse image. Basically it is perfectly allowable to make limited use of copyrighted images or even video clips for educational posts.

You may want to adapt this copyright disclaimer to your jurisdiction:

Copyright footnote: Sections 29, 29.1 or 29.2 of the Copyright Act of Canada is a statutory exception that permits the limited use of figures for the purposes of research, private study, education, parody, satire, criticism or review and news reporting. That is the intention of the use of the un-credited figure in this post. Other major jurisdictions (USA Section 107, European Copyright Directive etc.) grant similar exceptions.


A disclaimer like the above signals your intention to your readers that you are not a thief or a plagiarizer only that you are adapting an image for the noble pursuit of education.

Aside #1: I don't think that receiving donations from your fellow Steemians is a commercial activity. For example, educational institutions make money and use copyrighted material a lot but they always also cite their sources.

Aside #2: I believe, but do not know, that Steemit servers are all over the world so the jurisdiction of your country may apply to your posts. On the other hand Steemit is a corporation registered in the USA so maybe American copyright law applies to the Steemit platform?

If You Are ESL Don't Sweat It

If English is not your first language don't over-worry about your STEM writing too much.

The majority of STEM readers are enlightened and understanding folk. We native speakers can pick off a non-native speakers quickly and we know to give them slack.

In fact, we actually take it as a compliment that you even bothered to learn our weird and difficult language. So thank you for that.


I, Procrastilearner, release all of the text in this post to the Public Domain. Feel free to use it as you will.

Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Basically I am trying to engage the STEM community as per the Steemstem curators' latest posts. They seem stressed out and I think that they could use our help.

  1. Steemstem on a break

  2. Rebooting Steemstem

I upvoted to keep this comment near the top.

Hello @procrastilearner : This is an essential guideline. But I need to point out here is that regarding the license attribution of images. Three things are always necessary:

  • Link to the source image (like the flickr link / wiki link)
  • Username of creator/uploader and link to their profile (if available)
  • License attribution link (if CC-by-SA Ver2 please provide that link). An example below. :
    3954245670_e3a3e28240_z.jpg
    Image Source: Flickr, Uploader: ch00n, License: CC BY 2.0

Even when I looked your articles, the license info is buried in the image. Not as a link. This is not a critisizm. I appreciate your quality content very much. I think you will take this in a good spirit. I am giving a snapshot from CC-ver-2 page here:
Screenshot at 2018-04-15 11-36-10.png

Let me know your opinion.

--
@dexterdev

Thanks for the feedback. That's a detail I missed. Looks like I'm going to have to figure out how to incorporate links now without cluttering up my articles.

Always learning, always room for improvement.

Awww, so I guess I need to edit my latest steemSTEM post? But my first post went thru just fine with a steemstem/curie upvote... Hm...

Pixabay images are CC0 version mostly, so its okay I guess. But other images, you need to credit properly. You can edit now also, if the post is younger than 7 days

I think I only use Pixabay or Wikipedia/Wikimedia Commons most of the time, let me check on it. Yes I just posted it a few hours ago.

In case you have more doubts, you can talk to us in #steemSTEM discord channel. You can tag me with the same username.

Oh I don't have Discord... only steem.chat. :D I'm happy at least I was able to find these helpful posts to make mine better. :D Thanks!

Typos are a fact of writing life. You will make them, and they are forgivable but at the very least proofread your article before hitting that post button.

For this part, I think you can sign up and install Grammarly chrome apps. Of course, the free version functionality would be restricted, but it will check any critical errors for you including typos. It's pretty easy to use.

Good idea @chloroform. I didn't know about this. I'll get it installed now. Sometimes I have a moment and write like an idiot. :D

Good day man.

No problem. Happy to help. Good day to you too.

.

That's Mr. pofrak... prosak... porfakstina... proflak..fro... faaaack... ,

Shit call me whatever you want.

Nice idea. Good job. Another problem that is present is that a lot of people don't have the passion for stem subjects, they write something half-hearted and hope they get a vote.

it's important that users have a passion and some knowledge about what they write about. Yesterday I found 3-4 posts that were like this, one post just copied and pasted from NASA and changed a few words but i spotted it. This really bugs me and this is a problem that needs to be addressed.

Hopefully if everyone works together in the community we can start changing things for the better, as long as everyone plays their part.

Thank you for your advice. It has really helped me in improving my articles.

Hi @procrastilearner

You've helped me a lot with this article. I have discovered something I have been trying to get around for some really long time with that descritpion on how to write around an image. i have bookmarked the article as I've always loved to write science articles but was afraid of rejection.

Well I don't do footnotes, I just have the superscript numbers as a link to the source articles... Am thinking that's okay? Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45