You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I learnt this week 18: Three-eyed beetles, Graphene super-sieves, Fungicidal nemesis, Bacterial arms race & Banana resistance!

in #steemstem7 years ago

Very, very interesting post. I especially liked the part about graphene. If you create in the future on its basis filters, we can obtain clean water from contaminated sources. This is a very promising direction.
About the bananas I was just upset. If they attack a nasty about which write, they will die. I love them.
I hope that scientists will not allow the deaths of banana trees.

Sort:  

It's said that the 'banana' flavour you taste when drinking, say, fake banana milkshake or banana candy s actually the taste of the original banana that used to be worldwide, the Gros Michel, which is why banana flavour never tastes like actual banana =D So yeah I hope we don't have to change to another species too, this one is clearly nicer than the Gross Michel

When I was younger banana flavoring was always my favorite. I never new that connection. I'd live to get some vintage Michel bananas... Maybe initiate a revival!

I was also interested in the information regarding graphene. I am curious to understand why water is able to pass through if other molecules that have similar properties to water may not pass. I would also like to understand what changes are made to the graphene that changes the permiability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34