WITHOUT CHEMISTRY, THERE IS NO COMPUTER LET ALONE A PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

I was giving an elaborate description of what Computer programming is all about.
image
A very good friend who was listening asked me @mritsnobigdeal! why didn't you study computer science in school?.

He asked me this question because he knew I studied zoology in the University.

I've applied for jobs as a web developer and was turned down because my prospective client was disappointed with me.
image
Their usual responds is "how can you study zoology and you are applying for a job designed for computer scientist?"

We are in Nigeria so the ignorance of my clients is understandable. I at some point studied chemistry and I know a lot about chemistry, to be frank, chemistry was one of my best then.
image
What my clients and some of my Chemistry friends don't know is that Chemistry is not just a basic science but the foundation for all electronic devices.

Take computers for example. A computer runs on a processor and this processors are designed with 98% pure silicate.
image
Silicate is gotten from the normal sand that you see. I don't mean clay. Clay gives aluminium as by products. I mean sand, in Nigeria we call it san san.

Without this silicate, then they is no computer. The current CEO of AMD computers read Chemistry or let me put it this way She is a Chemist!.
image
Without Chemistry, there is no Computer let alone a programming language.

Electronic devices take instructions from a micro chip. This micro chip is still designed with pure silicate. The purity of the silicate may not be of upmost importance but is good for processing speed of the device its working in.
image
The aspect of Chemistry that deals with micro chips is called Inorganic Chemistry.

As a Chemist, when you refine a silica to give you silicate, you must test your product. To test your product, you must have a good knowledge of Computer Programming.

Now!, did you study Chemistry in Nigeria?. I know what you feel, but to get the best out of the Chemistry you studied, you must remove your mind from thinking about working in Oil Companies only.
image
The world has moved on and I believe you want to be part of the move. You must develop yourself beyond your class. If not you may end up in the class room.

Computer Languages is not different from the normal language you speak.

Every language has a structure and syntax. Every language represents a people.

In Computer Programming it is the same thing. You write it based on Syntax, Structure and Domain.
image
Domain is the same thing as people. Take for instance. The language that displays text on every computer is the markup languages eg HTML. Text is a domain on its own. The Language that applies colors to a text is the style sheet eg CSS. Style Sheets is a domain on its own. etc.
image
Its exciting when writing a Computer Language and I believe you'll love it too.

Unfortunately, the Nigerian Economic system does not favour Computer Programmers. Many Nigerian youths are passionate and eager to learn Computer Programming.

The problem is, Nigeria lacks good Computer Programming Tutors. Even some Lecturers in Nigerian Higher institutions don't know Computer Programming but are teaching it.
image
Epileptic power supply and inconsistent internet connections are also contributing factors.

Unavailability of jobs and much more!.

All this factors is contributing effectively in turning Nigeria's wanna be Computer Programmer into a scammer or fraudster.

In Nigeria, we call this fraudsters all manner of names like G-guys.

How have I survived all this without being corrupted?, one of my Doctor friends asked me this question.

First, is because I'm not just a pastor but have a strong moral background. So my conscience is very active and my family keeps a close watch on my activities.
image
Secondly, I'm very passionate about programming to the extent that money is not the first thing that comes to my mind whenever I am handling a project. I love the feeling of creating something that people love to use. Its an amazing experience.

Thirdly, majority of the worlds computer scientist are atheist, so I want to prove a point that a Christian can love God deeply and still love Computer Programming.
image
Lastly, I want to create Computer Programs that will help in spreading the gospel and also prove that God is the best Programmer that ever exist.

I want to create a community for Christian Programmers and would want you to be part of it provided you are very passionate about Computer Programming.

I also want to appeal to you that is reading. We have many youths who have left the Christian faith because of lack of support from older people in the faith.

This youths where part of some Church media teams and technical teams. The Churches they where part of didn't know that they needed support to give their best and unleash their creativity.
image
Let's look for such youths and encourage them to come back to the programming world, let's empower them and help them become the best of who they are so that the world can see them and appreciate them.
image
Picture source -pixabay.com

Sort:  

Nice write up @mritsnobigdeal, like we chemists say "what on earth is not Chemistry...chemistry our life our future."

You are so correct.

Hi @mritsnobigdeal.

  • Nice article but in my opinion, it is too short. I will recommend you to write at least 600 words article to make it more interesting. Throw in some arguments, opinions or anything that can make the discussion much interesting.
  • It would be good if you can provide some links for further reading purposes.
  • Put a space between paragraphs and images. It will be more organised that way.

Mentor_3.png

Wow! I was actually waiting for this.
I will work on the tips you have given to me.
Thanks so much for stopping around.

Nice writeup. Good job

@Mritsnobigdeal, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

Thanks so much.

Great post you have here @mrnobigdeal, i love the composure, evetything about the post!

Thanks so much baby mmi

Congratulations! Your post has been selected for the best curated content today, featured by @cherylsonty!

It will received an upvote from @steemjet and the SteemJet curation team to help give you a boost.

Join Steemjet on discord here. It's a great place to network with, make friends and learn more about steemit and the steemjet community.

Thanks so much @steemjet for the show of love.
Really do appreciate this.
Thanks

Awesome post. Truly deserves it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90