You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Running a Cordless Electric Lawn Mower on an eBike Battery?

in #steemstem6 years ago

May I suggest if you are going to roll your own. Run with high density high discharge packs designed for the RC FLight industry. IF you ran 2 of these guys in Series you would have 48v with 10 amps capacity for $140

The down side is that with the 10 C rate it would only be able to discharge 100 Amps consistent with out damaging the cells. But the good news is that the thing was designed for a 1C lead acid battery :)

https://hobbyking.com/en_us/multistar-high-capacity-6s-10000mah-multi-rotor-lipo-pack.html

Sort:  

Very valuable tip, but the mowers I'm looking to convert are 36 volt.

I use 3 Cell packs for my 12v applications. Fully charged they are 12.6v (4.2v/Cell) discharged they are about 10.8 I tend to not discharge them below 3.4v/Cell. You could run 3 in series fo 36 Volt the only down side is that you would need to either remove all 3 packs to charge them or use a bunch of balance Chargers and just keep them all hooked up all the time on the balance port.

Most things set for DC have a operating range of voltage. IE automotive accessories are about 10-15v

I really like tinkering with Electricity. I currently replaced my gasoline chainsaw and trimmer for the 40V ryobi series. I was pleasantly surprised when the trimmer head used all my old 32cc gas accessories brush blade and pole saw. Best part is that I charge my batteries off my little off grid solar setup. 200w of panels to a 100 AH 12v battery bank with a 300w 110 inverter.

On the page you linked me it says each one is 22.2 volts though.

"I really like tinkering with Electricity."

Likewise. It's like a silent, powerful butler or genie which can be put to any use. As Captain Nemo said:

"There's a powerful, obedient, swift, and effortless force that can be bent to any use and which reigns supreme aboard my vessel. It does everything. It lights me, it warms me, it's the soul of my mechanical equipment. This force is electricity."

The 6 cell packs have a 22.2v nominal charge. 2 would work for a 48v.

Each Cell is 3.6v Nominal with 4.2v fully charged. Think like regular ole alkaline batteries where an AA is 1.5v :)

I have no affiliation with Hobby King they are just a cheap place to get battery packs motors speed controllers and other tinkering gear.
https://hobbyking.com/en_us/batteries/lipo-batteries-all-brands.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36