You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - An Exploration Of Bizarre Sub-Millimeter Fungi And Insects Living In A Micro Ecosystem

in #steemstem6 years ago

Wow, wow, wow, you have gone to such detail, not only in your pictures but also your post! You have a new follower and I'll be checking your back catalogue too!

I do love mushrooms, I would love to be able to forage properly but without proper guidance I guess you are playing Russian roulette! Something I am not willing to do. Your previous posts will enlighten me somewhat. Could you recommend any books on the subject?

Also being Vegan I have eaten my fair share of Fusarium venenatum.

Thanks for the information. A real eye opener.

Sort:  

I'm glad you're so interested -in terms of recommended reading the books listed in the information section of this post are a great start - in particular the Kingdom of Fungi is great as it takes a global view.

Otherwise it depends on where you are in the world. But rest assured, wherever you are there are definitely mycological resources tailored to your general area. My guides are primarily tailored to the North East of North American cause that's where I do most of my searching.

But come April I'll be joining a group down in Chile and that will require inquiry with an entirely different set of resources.

And btw, I too don't eat my finds. I think the risk/reward ratio is all out of whack, even if you can ID very well. Growing mushrooms for food is a different matter however and we'll be addressing that in the next few weeks as well.

Brilliant thanks. I am in Ireland so will have a look at the kingdom of funghi book. I'll be looking forward to your post on growing for food.

Thanks again and keep up the great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75