Slow-motion phone cameras are amazing

in #steemstem5 years ago

I noticed my reputation was nanometres from 68, so I decided to add an extra video from yesterday's vibrationary experiment.

The basic principle I was over-explaining was that strings vibrate, and when you divide the length of the string, they vibrate at equally divisible rates. If you half the length of a plucked string, it vibrates twice as fast. If you quarter it - four times faster.

This then translates to different pitches as the vibrations of the string move the air around and create certain wavelengths.

Halving the string makes a 2:1 ratio. A third length gives you a 3:2 ratio (3 vibrations for every 2 at full length) and so on.

Here is a second demonstration of the 2:1 ratio. As you may notice - especially if you can keep a beat - when I slam my finger down on fret 12 - the halfway point - the string immediately doubles its frequency.

Using the same dumbed-down math I had to use in the previous post because I'm dumb, you can then figure out the pitch of the guitar string without even hearing it.

Anyone wanna take a shot? I'll set anyone as a beneficiary to 50% of my next post rewards to whoever gets it.

Extra point

You may also note that the light is flickering, which is quite normal depending on the lights. In this case, it's coming from my lava lamp incandescent bulb which I had pointed at the guitar to illuminate for the low-quality slow-mo.

An incandescent bulb typically flickers at double the frequency of the AC Frequency. So if your country's AC is 50Hz like here in China, the bulb will flicker at a rate of 100Hz.

The flickering in the video is going at a rate of 185bpm, or about 3.083333 flickers per second at this slowed pace.

Multiplying to real-time according to my previous post by about 32.4 - according to the frame rate of the video playback, and you get...

99.89Hz!

Slow-motion phone cameras are amazing.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Here's to being 68 :D

since you're on a musical journey ill just keep spamming

you know how hard it is to get a reply unless youre insulting people ,right ?

the answer is sincere

me ... i like the drummer with the seven arms of Ka-Li

even if the girl crawls into the piano to comb it mid-performance

you know im not the enemy, right ?

in japan you could call that ka no jo but in english the meaning gets dilluted into girl

my thoughts remain the same and i hope yours do as well

Slow-motion shows our everyday world from such a different perspective! Experience is always thought-provoking, at least for me.

Note - as of today, youtube video in your post is not working for some reason.

Are you sure? It's still working for me....

I've tried through steemit.com and video works, indeed.

Tried again on https://www.steemstem.io/#!/@mobbs/slow-motion-phone-cameras-are-amazing using Chromium and not working there, and displaying error: ''An error occurred. Please try again later. (Playback ID: cXP7RuO8us7taug9)'' However, youtube video in one of the comments works. Same using Firefox.

I will check this and fix it asap. Thanks for noticing this! :)

Oo I'll pass the bug on to @lemouth, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82