You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSTEM Distilled #35

in #steemstem6 years ago

Thanks to @ruth-girl for her selection. A one-woman team is the best ^^

I would like to bring to the attention of everyone that we will start reducing our support to authors not engaging the community very soon. It is never too late to start engaging (upvoting others, commenting others, answering replies, participating on our discord server, etc.) and help us to build this project!

[upvoted for visibility]

Sort:  

Mille mercis, monsieur @lemouth!!
It is always hard to pick posts for the Distilled.
People just keep making such great work!!
It would be a shame not to support them, don't you agree steemstemers?! We need all of you to bring life to the community! ;)

I really agree with you. It would be a shame not to support authors but a bigger shame is authors not supporting authors.

Well done and thank you @ruth-girl.

Things seem to be on the good way to be self-fixed :)

Yes, I am glad to see that.

Yes it is hard. I am also trying to resteem some of them with the steemstem account for a few days. I don't know if you notice, but the intersection between your choices and mine is large :D

Chiming in to say not only does engaging each other help the community, and the support you get from #steemstem, but you might even learn something.

I also have this experience. Nothing is better when I write a post and get comments that teach me even more stuff about the thing I just wrote about. It's especially nice when I write about things that I only have a theoretical knowledge about, and someone shows up with firsthand experience of it!

it really pains when i try to connect with some people and they do not reply ..it has never stopped me from engaging in my daily comments.

I am never expecting an answer when I am commenting. That's one way to avoid deception. I however always try to answer people taking te time to comment my post (even with a flag for obvious spamming :p)

The reply makes it more fun and more interesting.. I reply my comments too.. But those with links.. I flag instantly even though my sp is little.

It is enough to hide them :)

I can totally see why you would try to not have any expectations when writing a comment here on Steemit. I believe that something like 1 out of 5 people actually answers, so it can often feel pretty hopeless to spend your time on this.

20% is not a bad number :)

Maybe not, but that depends on how you look at it. I still think that not getting answer to 80 % of comments is a little too high, but that does of course depend on the nature of the comment. Still, replying and engagement on Steemit is not really as high as I would have liked it to be.

It is a huge number, but I see it the opposite way: 20% is twice better than 10%. Hopefully, we should get to 80% answers for 20% ignores, but we are far from there... Maybe on a year or so, if your steemstem strategy towards engagement works?

That is probably a much better way to look at it ;)

I wish more people started giving small upvotes to people who comment, and those they interact with. I get that some people are against paying for interaction, but I truly believe that some comments can add a lot of value to the main posts, especially if they bring additional information, their own experience etc., and it's really unfair that the post author get so much money while those who contribute in the comment section get close to zero. But we'll see how the future of this will play out :)

I am trying to reward the comments to my posts according to their relevance. But this is not easy and also my VP is limited (a good fraction of it is dedicated to the @steemstem and @francosteemvotes projects). But I agree, we should foster interactions! :)

It is very important that authors engage and interact with each other as it will foster the progress of the community.. I agree with you

You are really right about this issue. Steemit is all about community engagement but most of us tend to use it for our only benefits.

This is kind of normal when money plays a role. We are trying to kind of fix this at our level :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63565.69
ETH 3484.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53