You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A new crystal found in the back room of our store.

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

Copper sulfate is lab grown in a pure form and is a richer blue. We have some single copper sulfate crystals in our store. They are 2"-3". The crystal above, I was told by my resource, is extracted from an actual chalcanthite cluster in matrix. It has impurities in it that are found in the natural state. It is a darker blue than pure copper sulfate. I did check out your post on copper sulfate crystals and cupric sulfate. Pretty cool. Too late to upvote though.

Sort:  

I had no idea that the color was different. Cool.

No comment on the crocoit?

It's pretty, but I knew nothing about it, so I didn't have anything substantial to say about it. Now I know it's a short Wikipedia walk from the mineral to one of my favorite paintings. Thanks for inspiring me to learn a few things!


Flaming_June,_by_Frederic_Lord_Leighton_(1830-1896).jpg

Flaming June, Leighton, public domain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54