You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Science and scientific journals - When the Blockchain could be helpful

in #steemstem6 years ago

As I already said, you don't need necessarily a blockchain for that. You have open-access platforms like the arxiv (without peer-review) or scipost (with public peer-review) that already exist, at least for physics.

What would a blockchain bring here in addition to what is already available (at least for someone from my field)? Moreover, it is crucial to implement a peer-review mechanism.

One thing I agree with you is that we don't need publishing companies anymore... But we already have alternatives!

Sort:  

But we already have alternatives!

I agree with you, but blockchain is still an extra technology that we now can use. It may not be the best... I don't know, but it is still a possibility.
I personally believe that a blockchain-based platform would have some important advantages, like decentralization and impossibility of being controlled or blocked.

Obviously yes, it would require an adequate system for peer review... But even in this case I think the blockchain offers excellent guarantees.

I am not against, but then I will have to be shown the added value :)

Ofc... I think there are different way to do this, and each one has some value ... Which is the best? I do not know, we should have the courage to try them seriously...

Yep, it is indeed easier to assess if we have something to play with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44