You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #35 - Update - Likely Licea variabilis Slimemold! Morphological Transformation Caught On Time Lapse - In Depth Analysis

I'm with you on the ID challenges, @dber! I see so many fungi that I will never know by name. Sometimes it's even too much to know their relatives. And in the papers that sort out fungi by DNA, the results are mostly downright probabilistic rather than definitive. It's humbling, too, to read older mushroom books - even great ones - and realize how much has changed in 'knowing' what a specific mushroom might be.

And I sure appreciate all that effort you go to, to get photos and footage at such a small scale. I hope you can set up a great lab somewhere, that gives you more room to have temperature control and lighting the way you want! -- And I'll stay away from foraging those slime molds - to eat, anyway..... ; )

Sort:  

Haha - I know it's silly I still have the disclaimer up for these obscure, tiny things - but you never do know what folks might try to eat!

You're absolutely right re:identification - DNA has really stirred the pot so completely stirred the pot that everything is still falling back into place. It's part of the reason I'm so hesitant to eat what I forage, even though lots of factors may support edibility for a given mushroom. End of the day it's just so easy to get it wrong.

I'm gonna be working on some more "laboratory" upgrades as the year progresses - just need to figure out where I'm gonna put them ... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91