You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ageing as a disease: The WHO considers attacking The Dragon Tyrant

in #steemstem6 years ago

If this was achievable, what would happen to overpopulation?
This topic seems to also shift moral boundaries.
I love the way you're "sitting on the fence" about it.

Sort:  

Overpopulation is never really something that I worry about. In every model that I've seen global population looks like its going to level out to around 11 billion by around the year 2100. Continuing on the current rate of progress I have no doubt we'll be able to cope with that. Now, however, is the time that scares me most. If part of the world races forward at the detriment to the rest (i.e. with climate change), we're all going to struggle in the long term.

Also the fence is the best place to see everything from, of course I'm going to sit there!

Thank you for the resteem! 😀

I'm of the opinion that death (from ageing, not diseases) is kind of a natural way of keeping overpopulation in check. Altering the age people naturally die would cause an imbalance, kind of. Although I don't know about any country with overpopulation issues, but countries with less dense population seem to fare better than countries with denser population. I hope I'm not wrong.

Also the fence is the best place to see everything from, of course I'm going to sit there!

lol....make sure you get a good balance.

You deserve more than a resteem. Maybe a bottle of Origin when you visit Nigeria.

You make a good point, I'll have to look into it and get back to you. My gut feeling is that the reduce in number of children people have due to better health care will level it out, but I take a look at what those that study it for a living say.

I may well one day take you up on that kind offer one day!

Thanks, I'll be here to know what you find.

I may well one day take you up on that kind offer one day!

I'll be waiting...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52