There is no such thing as virginity: The Hymen is a myth

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends,
Here is a little something you should know if you don't already know. Let each one tell one.


tilly-abstract-artist-noise-organ-underground-art-press-woman-matilda_abstract-art-black-and-white_apartment_apartment-kitchen-design-small-ideas-studio-interior-for-apartments-micro_972x993.jpg
Woman Matilda

In Indonesia, women aspiring to be military officials, women who are Amazons willing and wanting to live or die for their country, these women are made to undergo virginity tests before they can be recruited into the army. To serve their fatherland or motherland as the case may be, they have to be ascertained pure Avatars who have not been tainted by the fearsome force of the male genitalia.

Of course, many described this as "bonker", "primitive" and "unscientific". But then, these words, well-fitting as they may be, did nothing to stop the Indonesian governments from trying to 'purify' their army. It did nothing to stop women from being forced to do virginity tests during the Egyptian uprisings. And it sure does nothing to stop parents from dragging their daughters to the gynaecologists to have their vagina checked for contamination.

🙅 Anyway, let's put that behind us. There ain't no use trying to kill a housefly with a broomstick, and verbose words sure as hell counts as a mere broomstick. So, it has actually been discovered that there is no such thing as virginity, there is no hymen safe to crack open, neither is there necessarily any vial of blood to rejoice over. So yeah, Women no longer owe any part of their voluptuous body to anybody, not to their husbands, first boyfriends, religious fraternity, cultural maniacs, or parental protectors.

This, downright, is a good thing, right? But before we unclad our wares and start dancing into the moonlight, let's examine the fact a little.

The Hypotheses

Let me tell you a story. Long long ago in 1906, a Norwegian woman, a scientist, got her curiosity piqued about what really lies beneath, in the vagina. Then, she took to investigating on and medically trying the vagina of a middle-aged sex worker. Now contrary to her expectation, it wasn't all burst open and rotting and as pink as the ass of a fowl. Rather, it was clean and beautiful. In fact, her genitalia, the hymen particularly was 'reminiscent of a teenage virgin.'

Now onwards to the 21st Century, two medical students (female too) were also curious about the same thing. And they went on to carry a research, on not one, but 36 pregnant women. And good gracious, they found out that in all 36, only two of the women bore clear signs of penetration. End of story.

Lesson: 'You simply cannot see the between of a woman's legs and read her sexual stories' (the medical pros said this, not me).

The myth of the hymen

Often times, we have been made to flow with the popular, opinionated tide that the hymen is something like a thin plastic shield, a flimsy burglary proof that can be broken into, with its satisfying, wet treasures taken or stolen in just one scoop. Most people further envision it to be a slimy, transparent, bloody lid that should be forced open in order to let its content gush out like a bottle of Coke. They think it's a tamper-proof seal that should only be broken on first use. I can't begin to want to imagine just how people paint the hymen in the mind's eyes. I am very sure it will be a pretty sight for ...

Well, in actual fact, the hymen is really nothing but some elastic obscure skin fold that looks like a doughnut (not the one with jam and all), but the one with a round pegged hole. It can also bear the similitude of a crescent moon with a large hole, small holes or even loops.

Now, do you really want to see a picture of this? I don't think so.

What the above sort of connotes is that the hymen as it is found within women varies in looks. No two female can have the same kind of hymen. At least, not exactly. But this is not really the sauce of the mincemeat.

The real deal lies in knowing that because the hymen is elastic and a hole in its own right, it doesn't have to break at all or collapse beneath the mere initial stroke of a male phallus. It can only be stretched, not broken.

😵 And no no no, the hymen does not disappear or vanish into thin air. It's a major part of the female anatomy. It might be as lazy as the appendix, but it is still a good part, a nice attachment😉. It is only susceptible to wear and tear, because of its elasticity (More like the elasticity of demand and supply; the greater the demand, the greater the price on...) And usually, this might not even necessarily follow (you know about cross elasticity?)

So, the bottom line is, depending on various circumstances, depending on the workings of force and motion, some virgins might bleed on their first intercourse; while some virgin, they just will simply never bleed from sex.

Well, that's sorted out now, right? Let's talk about this👇

The Vial of Blood

Now, you do know now that ain't necessarily got to be a pound of blood when having sex with a tire-rubber gal. Just some good, fond loving, that's all💕. Now, another thing that should be noted is that even if there were meant to be some dash of blood during first time, this could as well be lost in a less grandiose manner like while doing some hard exercises, trying to look prim and slim or in the case of an accident with a major impact to the beneath.

Of course, the lady might not know. And this virtually causes a lot of rancour after a decent wedding because the man will normally expect a vial of blood to fall on the clean, white rosy bedsheet.

The lies

You watched this film, directed by some film maestro, where a particular fine girl, Arewa or something was raped by her dreadlocked city friend and was made to go through a lot of humiliation upon the discovery that she was not a virgin. Now, I be thinking, if I were a modern chick with a moderate knowledge of how things run, would I let myself go through this humiliation. Of course, I won't. Not if I could help it. Not if I could easily go in for re-virgination through plastic surgery, not if I could easily stain the bed sheet with something that looks like blood, not if I could make any other part of my body bleed...

So, these are the lies females have to dish out to cover their untold secrets. But that's because the ancient medical practitioners first lied to us about these anatomical myths. Granted, they didn't know the truth for a while. But when they eventually did, they hid the truth in their bosoms and died with it.

Now, the basic truth is that the prejudices and cultural alienations as it to pertains to the 'virgin membrane' does not merely come from anatomical constructions. Rather, it is steeped in deeper religious and cultural quagmires. So writing this or feeding the world with some hypothesis might do nothing to help. But then, I do believe that getting to know about fallible notions of virginity will help narrow in on what we really need to be concerned about: the hymen of a new-to-sex damsel😫 or the dignity of all women🙌🙌.

Reference

So you can already guess that I didn't go myself to some white-tiled lab to spurt this out, I stumbled(No, I didn't fall, thank you) on a radio programme that featured a You-Tube video of a TED conference:

The Virginity Fraud by Nina Dolvik Brochman and Ellen Stokken Dahl.

I listened with enthusiasm, gathered some vent, and then, I decided to let out 'all my steem' right here on the Steemit community.

If you think I did a good job of letting it all go, you can simply help me gather some steem again by commenting on, upvoting, and possibly resteeming this post.

To all my peeps and pals in the house, I throway salute.

Sort:  

I like the way u write. It's witty.

Thanks a lot, @doris-adioha. I am so honoured to have you read this.

This is so nice!!! Resteemed!!!
Kudos @funmiakinpelu

Thank you a lot, oh. I am dancing in my heart. I do hope to see you more often, @barko1.

Yes. Hymen can be broken by various activities. I wonder how the back up dancers do it. Nice post.

or horse riders

Or preek riders 😂😂😂😂😂

goat....😂😂😂😂
comot here

mehn...!
this is very educative and an eye opener to almost all females and all males.
very thoughtful of you..
am resteeming. :-)

Thanking you @camzy. Anytime I see you comment on my post, I used to feel like I was just served jollof rice and big meat. Hope it's not a bad thing sha?

Haha
Just seeing this
Is that so?

This is wonderful.. But not withstanding, virginity is a state of mind then. The idea of sex is so much larger than all of this... And once it's given, it's given.
There's this Nigerian Saying tho
"Toto no get meter "

A woman's sexual experience cannot be measured.

This is beautiful, I wish I had SP of a whale so I'll upvote u 100%
You deserve it

Toto no get meter

this quote sha.....hahahahahahahaha

The quote is on point.

Men!!!! This one hold me....

toto no get what??? 😰😰😰😵😵😵😵

Meter...lol. Lastma officer, arrest her

Where did it hold you, please?

Uhnnnnnnn, seeing this is making me feel soooooo good. Thanks a lot, @iwritealot. And you are right in every way when you say "Toto no get meter". But mhen, where did you get that quote from? It's ......skibidi pap pap

I do hope to visit your side and see just how you write a lot.

@funmiakinpelu, this was articulately researched and well written. Resteemed!

I am overwhelmed, Ehiboss. It is just way above me, having you here. It's beyond me. Words are not enough....Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Lol at fearsome force of the male genatalia, this captured me, im still reading...

Abi na. And really, thanks for reading. I am honestly touched.

People need to be enlightened about this.. Well written dear, thumbs up..

Thank you, dearie. I am immensely grateful to you for taking the time out to read this. And yes, people will get to know as time goes on.

Wow.please check out my last post @biggy345 .and i beleive it is there

You mean we can find crude oil in your latest post...
Or what else can be down there?

Me I am not even looking for crude oil inside, I am looking for sbd.

Ok, I should. Thanks.

What an incredible write up and a eye opener to all d ignorant pple out there.

Thank you @dhavey. I do hope I will continue to write incredibly so that I can keep seeing you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55