Health Vlog #3: Why Sit-Ups are a Terrible Exercise!

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)


Click on the VIDEO above ^^ to watch

Why I never practice Sit-Ups


In this video, I describe one of the most common mechanisms for lower back injury.

I show how the Sit-up is a perfect recipe for hurting the spine.

Lastly, I explain how you can get a six-pack.

Follow @exercisinghealth

Further Reading:


Dr Stuart Mcgill- Core Training: Evidence
Translating to Better
Performance and Injury
Prevention

*All video and images were created by @exercisinghealth or used with the label "for reuse with modification."

IMG_7791.GIF


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I just watched both your videos on the core and now I feel disappointed, should I quit crunches? I know most people do them the wrong way, but even with the right technique the "accumulating" damage can harm you?

I used to do plank variations, but had to stop them for my knee issues (I'll put them on my training program soon, as I'm getting better).
I also do scissor kicks, I don't think they put much stress on the spine. Oh, and what about side bends?

I'll be waiting for your alternative exercises ;)

(And I like how you explain everything so simply, I tried to keep myself from joking about the food containers though)

Yes, I would do away with the crunches.

Any exercise which puts the lower back into flexion (rounding) should be avoided as much as possible.

The side bends are the same. The only shape that the spine can handle, apart from its neutral position, is extension (Like a cobra pose). That's why I spend a lot of time laying on my stomach and working.

Sitting, however, almost always will force your back into flexion. So, most of the time, I stand or lay on my stomach and work.

Thank you, I am trying really hard to keep it simple;)
Oh, haha. I was laughing at myself, with those lunch boxes. I had to get creative :)

The new video is up by the way :) Please check the description and comment on a question I asked the community.

Thank you in advance ;)

Hmm, this means I need to refresh my exercising routine...

I saw you got it out. I'll be watching it tonight after work. Thank you ;)

Good video, thanks for answering the question at the end... Looks like I got some fat burning to do

The examples used were insightful, while burning fat is something that'll have to happen over time, I can stop crunches/situps and pay more attention to my posture just now... the disk hitting the rubber bands seems very painful...

I also took a peek online, apparently planks are much better than crunches for the core? But planks are so boring, and it feels odd to train a muscle but just "planking"... but I guess that's how to exercise the core and it doesn't need much equipment... great videos for me at a good time, I've been checking out gyms recently so if I continue I can start training right

Thank you! I’m glad you found the info useful.

Yea, lumbar disk injuries are very common and the pain is debilitating. My Dad has had lumbar surgery, so, I'm aware of the suffering.

Yes, the plank exercises the core isometrically, the way it is supposed to be.

I plan to show the various ways to exercise the ’core’ tomorrow. Stay tuned for that:) there will be more exciting moves than the plank included there ;)

Agreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

I'm so happy to see this sort of content here. Many of these 'basic' exercises are being done incorrectly without people realizing it! Then, 'all of a sudden' they hurt their back but it's actually because of the instabilities that they've been creating and poor movements they've been practicing for years! Great info - resteeming!

You have summarised the ’idea’ perfectly. I'm glad some people get it.

I have seen my Dad and cousin slip disks in their backs from poor lifestyle habits. The pain and suffering, they have endured, I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. I hope that this info can help a few people avoid such agony.

Thanks for your support!

I was trying to think of other exercises that may avoid the issue, like reverse crunches like another reader mentioned, or hanging with your hands and pulling your knees upward to your stomach ... but they all seem to round the spine, as you've indicated... Damn it...

I guess it's good ol' bellydancing for me then :D

Well, as long as you are standing on your two feet, the core will always be working. Makes sure to keep the core tight in all your lifts, to effectively transfer energy to the weights. The same goes for jumping, running etc. Elite athletes talk about stiffening their core and compare it to a steel rod (no bend).

Belly dancers, funny enough, generally have alot of problem with their back, because of how much they have to move and flick their spines.

Damn! Sit ups are bad??? Just when I thought that was my surest way to secure a v.i.p ticket to the six pack show. Thanks for the insight though! Definitely did learn something new today.

Haha, Yea, I used to do a lot of sit-ups and crunches too.

Check out my new video, there are loads of exercises you can do :)
Also, please read the description and reply to a question I posed to the community

Thanks in advance;)

Glad you found the info helpful.

Thank you. Will check it out ASAP!

Are reverse crunches better for you?


The idea is that any exercise which puts the lower back into flexion (rounding) should be avoided as much as possible.

If you notice, the lower back will still round, in the reverse crunch, when the hips are lifted from the floor.

You could do a 'stir the pot' exercise in a similar position to this but with your feet on the ground and arms straight up. Hold a resistance band that is tied to something sturdy behind you and while bracing the core move the band in circles, slowly, and with intention. This position will protect the spine and engage the core muscles.

Who cares about six packs when you can have a beer pack? 😅

That's true, I cant dispute that :)

So, I've been doing this wrongly since. Wow! Thanks for this.

Hmm, 😂😂😂 demp! demp!... Well done. I hope you get soon enough.

Glad you found the info useful:)

Very informative and from my experience i can very much say that situps do fuck up your spine. Instead, i started performing planks and hanging leg raises where i had a better mind-muscle connection and could completely destroy my ab workout. Great content!

Thank you:)

The idea is that any exercise which puts the lower back into flexion (rounding) should be avoided as much as possible.

Even though the back is capable of flexion, the structures cannot handle a high frequency of this movement or under extreme loads. That's why the trunk is far more efficient at energy transfer when it is in neutral and stiff.

So... I mustn't do any more sit-ups? Yay!!

Haha, I'm sure you are not the only one who is delighted by this info:) In tomorrows video, I will go through the various ’core, exercises which you should do...

Stay tuned :)

Excellent! Looking forward to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41