Tiny Little Brains... Something to think about...

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

brain in hand.jpg
Image Source

I just came across what I consider to be one of the weirdest, and coolest, advances in medical science I have seen in quite a long time. The last time I was this amazed about a new medical discovery was when the CRISPR-CAS9 gene modification technique nearly blew my mind - or in the current context - melted my brain.

Researchers have recently discovered a method for growing tiny, semi-functional little human brains in a laboratory. The little brains are literally grown in something called a “bioreactor”, and as the cells begin to grow they assemble themselves in very much the same way cells do in the human brain during the initial development stage of a fetus.

Presentation1.jpg

The miniature brains are about the size of a pin head, and contain roughly two hundred thousand cells, making them considerably smaller than a human brain, which contains orders of magnitude more, at just under a hundred billion cells. These tiny little brains take shape by forming into round clusters of cells, and as they grow they begin to acquire almost identical structures as found in the human brain.

Scientists don’t yet have the ability to create all of the different regions and complexities of a human brain, making the tiny, lab-created brains not act exactly like a fully functioning human brain in every respect – but the science is advancing at an unbelievable pace.

scientificamerican0117-26-I3 - brain.jpg
Image Source

Scientists are doing some pretty amazing things with these tiny little brains, which before now where almost impossible to accomplish. One of the primary uses for this new technology is to give scientists the ability to study how the human brain forms, and because there is no way to actually go inside the womb to see how the human brain actually develops, they can now study how these little clusters of brain cells act and react to different stimuli. It turns out that these cells grow and behave much in the same way as cells do in early human brain development, giving researchers a powerful new tool for diagnosing and preventing brain diseases in children.

Another key advantage of this technology is that scientists are now able to directly test new experimental drugs being developed specifically for brain diseases. Previous research using rats and mice was only able to scratch the surface of what is now possible due to the fact that the mouse and rat brains are so very different from human brains. There is now the very real possibility that many different diseases that affect the brain can be more adequately diagnosed, treated, and potentially even cured.

mouse brain.jpg
nurondev rat human.jpg

Being able to perform tests using human cells has been extremely valuable, and drug development directly related to brain diseases like Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s, and Encephalitis have already benefited from significant advancements. By infecting some of these little mini brains with the Zika virus, researchers were able to figure out how the Zika virus affects, and is altering the development of the early human brain, thus leading to an immediate advancement in our understanding of the virus, its effects, and treatment options for the horrible affliction it causes – microcephaly.

Scientists are now able to grow any number of different body parts in a laboratory, essentially in high-tech test tubes. I guess it was just a matter of time before they got to the brain. In the not-too-distant future it will be commonplace for hearts, kidneys, livers, bladders, lungs - and pretty much every organ, tissue, or cell in the body - to be grown in a lab and used to prevent, treat, and possibly cure just about everything imaginable.

images 1234.jpg
Image Source 1- 2- 3- 4

I do however think that there will be a much larger question asked when the technology sufficiently advances and people begin to ponder the implications, and what it all means. What if scientists are eventually able to grow a fully functional human brain in a laboratory? Just the thought of it makes me wonder about consciousness and the possibility of something man-made becoming self-aware. In spite of how cool that would be, and all the potential benefits it could bring to humanity, I think we have a lot of time before being forced to consider the moral, ethical, spiritual - and in certain respects - the religious questions that will inevitably arise from having a living brain in a jar.

steve martin.jpg
Image Source: The Man With Two Brains - 1983

Unfortunately - or fortunately, depending on your perspective - the technology is not yet anywhere near being able to grow all of the key structures that make up a human brain. So, in the short-term at least, I don’t think we have anything to worry about. More importantly the human brain doesn’t become what it is just by growing more cells, the human brain is much more than that. It is the product of input from our eyes, ears, nose, and every other sensory organ. Interactions with other people, and thought processes that we are only just beginning to scratch the surface of understanding, are inevitably more important when considering what makes a human brain - well, human. I don’t think there is any question that we are more than just the sum of our parts.

There are so many interesting things coming down the medical technology pipeline that it’s hard to keep up with them all - needless to say I’m excited about every one of them.

…who knows what the future holds.

Proofread/Edited By @transcript-junky

@transcript-junky is offering professional editing for a limited time, CLICK HERE to submit your post for review... As you can see he does great work...

Sort:  

Hello my dear Dr. Dave

Very interesting subject. Very much in the field I was working on just this year and I am about to leave it without looking back.

What if scientists are eventually able to grow a fully functional human brain in a laboratory? Just the thought of it makes me wonder about consciousness and the possibility of something man made becoming self aware. In spite of how cool that would be and all the potential benefits it could bring to humanity, I think we have a lot of time before being forced to consider the moral, ethical, spiritual, and in certain respects the religious questions that will inevitably arise from having a living brain in a jar.

I am not sure that will be too far off. Especially with the emergence of AI. Who knows what scientist would think of doing with these little brains. Possibly implant them into robots?!
Even better, I think they should be implanted in the humans who gave citizenship to a female AI, when human females (and other humans in general) in that country are treated less than an adequate life form. Oh, I think they should be implanted into those who voted for Trump as well
Oh boy! These scientists will get busy pretty quickly ;D

Many thanks for sharing, for not quitting steemit and for the gifts you send :D

Hugs with lots of love <3<3

Hello again TLK... I can definitely see a human brain being implanted inside an artificial body in the not too distant future, and combining that with AI - well we better just prepare ourselves for becoming obsolete now... :) As far as the Trumpanzees go, I have a new found faith they can be reformed - If Alabama can do it, there is hope...

BTW- I have to apologize for ACCIDENTALLY referring to you as a "man" on Qurator Discord... Figure better beg for forgiveness now - just in case... :)

BTW- I have to apologize for ACCIDENTALLY referring to you as a "man" on Qurator Discord... Figure better beg for forgiveness now - just in case... :)

Hahaha! Not to worry. You don't need forgiveness. Everyone I know made the same mistake including myself :P

I cut my hair this year to learn to accept myself (be less look/self conscious) as a Human before being anything else, including the double X chromosomes :D

Mind you through! You better said good things about me on Qurator discord ;D

See for yourself - :)

TLC Discord.jpeg

Edit: Funny I went the other way and haven't cut my hair or shaved my beard in over a year...

Oh! That is very sweet of you to say! Thank you for your kind words. I am happy that you feel supported by my words :D

Funny that I was thinking to tell you to join Qurator today, again!

Have they answered you yet?

No answer yet - nail biter though... They got me wondering if I somewhere, somehow pissed someone off (not completely out of the realm of possibility) lol...

They got me wondering if I somewhere, somehow pissed someone off (not completely out of the realm of possibility)

LOL

@scrooger is a sweetheart and I haven't seen him pissed off during the time I was working with him.

I think they are only busy. or didn't catch your txt. They usually answer you even If you are not accepted. So, no news is good news.

I suggest you send the 2 steem for registration, that will catch their attention and maybe contact them once again ;)

Let me know how it goes

It may be that in the future people will be able to have a few brain cells harvested while the are young, have them frozen, and if Alzheimer starts showing up they can have a new brain grown and transplanted. I know it sounds crazy, but so does growing brains to begin with at first glance. I do see the value though in being able to understand the brain development process.

It's unreal what science has and continues to accomplish in these regards. The first time I saw a photo of a human ear which had been grown on the back of a mouse, I seriously thought it was an April fool's or something ;)

They don't even need the mouse anymore - couple of skin cells, mix em up with some goo, pour it into a mold, and presto - brand new ear...

I just happened to hear about this on the news and once I started to dig a little deeper... Well - all I can say is Holy S%#T !!! I just barely touched on all the cool things science is doing with this one, and I'm almost positive most if not all of the things I mentioned, will eventually become a reality...

Thanks for the comment... :)

great post . thank you :ooo

Thank you for the support...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drdave from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

You got a 4.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @drdave!

I don't usually reply to bots, but I have to make an exception with this one... I am extremely impressed with the vote I received, and I will be using @postpromoter much more often because of it... Keep up the good Steem... My compliments to whoever runs you...

This post has received gratitude of 0.75 % from @appreciator thanks to: @drdave.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30