You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radioactive Pigs, Wild Pigs, Sick Pigs: The Trouble with Pigs Today

in #steemstem5 years ago

Hey @agmoore,
thank you for the nice article. I also encountered boars many time face to face, but they haven't attacked me. Actually, they are getting more within the years but now the wolf is back in the wood! Two weeks ago the aunt of my girlfriend found a dead deer. We are not sure whether it has been killed by a wolf or lynx. I could attach a photo of the remainings but I want to prevent that you have to tag your post as NSFW.
Anyway, I like the pigs. I think it is a shame that millions of them will be killed around the globe. Now the wolfs are back maybe our environment comes back to equilibrium.
Let's see!
Resteem and good night
Best
Chapper

Sort:  

Hey Chapper,
Thanks for the tip about the wolves. Looked it up...yes, they're back!--thanks to the military ???
Looks like people are at it again in protected areas and killing them off, but can't get to them on military grounds.

I like the pigs, too. I guess you can tell from my piece.

Have a great day.
Warm regards,
AG

Hey @agmoore, you can find the wolves even in civil areas. It seems like they are coming from Eastern Europe.

Regards

Posted using Partiko Android

😂

I want to prevent that you have to tag your post as NSFW

My face went from serious to laughing out loud. Thank you!!
Regards AG :)

I'm with you @chappertron, and "The trouble with pigs is people" (@agmoore2). Pigs are so maligned. And eaten! They are intelligent creatures with the potential to be companions, but, but, yes, nature is red in tooth and claw, and we did not invent the carnivore. The food chain evolved before we did. I'm not a vegan, but I won't eat bacon or ham or any pork anymore, even if I can find it nitrate-free. (Oh does it ever smell enticing.) Thank you @agmoore for this post, so comprehensive, I cannot begin to address the many points you made with a "Right on!" but I'll choose this one as especially haunting:
a legacy of the Fukushima and Chernobyl catastrophes. As people moved out of the evacuated communities, boars moved in. They foraged on contaminated plants. Oh karma....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49