You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brewing without Hops: Genetically engineering yeast to make hoppy flavor

in #steemstem6 years ago

As a brewer myself, this is quite interesting. You're right about the cost of hops, even here in Australia buying Australian varieties you'll still end up paying quite a bit. It's kind of ironic I can buy a few kilograms of grains and it barely costs me anything and the grains are the main ingredient.

While yeast strains that impart bitterness or change the flavour like hops is cool, I doubt it would ever be the same as using actual hops. Some things cannot be truly replicated or imitated.

What I would personally love to see is something like CRISPR being used to create hops that require less water and take less time to grow. I tried growing my own hops once and didn't realise it takes years to get a healthy yield of hops you can start using.

Sort:  

I agree, for a microbe to replicate the flavor profile of a species in an entirely different Kingdom is pretty far fetched.

Using CRISPR, or any genetic engineering method to create an improved hop strain is a great idea. It'll certainly be a challenge with anti GMO sentiments that currently pervade, but it'd be a great use of genetic engineering to solve an agricultural issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42