You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in the Life of a Shill Doctor

in #steemstem6 years ago

I was just reading an article about how truth doesn't make us change our minds. Sadly it's in Romanian, from our biggest fact checker, but I think that the issue is also the fact that believing in something extraordinary, in a global new world order is an escape from the easy explanation that they made poor choices that affected and keep affecting their lives.
I don't think this is an exploding incidence of mental problems ( grandeur of persecution or other manias ). but people without an education or a voice in the past are now able to gather together using the internet and get to easily disseminate their ideas to others like them. Less education means less rational thought because of lesser understanding of how things work.

So again, all revolves around education and I hope Steemit might have a better reach to those seeking answers. I was labeled as "loving myself" for saying I had answers others wanted :(

Sort:  

I've read similar articles about cognitive bias!

I have often thought the same thing. It's much easier for people to believe that they're being conspired against, than to recognize that their efforts for health/ wealth or success have been insufficient. I'd also say people under-appreciate how much of a role luck plays in become successful and as such they rather a 'fair' explanation than to accept that it's not always a matter of people who work hardest becoming the healthies/ wealthiest or most successful.

Unfortunately a lot of people with odd ideas band together in echo chambers on the internet, so the best chance I think we have is addressing them in irl. At least then they're prepared to listen sometimes.

Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68