You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How onions have inspired particle physicists to design their detectors

in #steemstem6 years ago

Just saw the documentary about ATLAS on their own youtube page. I was looking for the conclusions and then I saw the article. I really hope that Steemit can be used to make science more friendly to the new generations.
That these kinds of quests to explore the unknown are a catalyst to more science. I will promote SteemSTEM in my country too, I have a plan to reach a broader audience. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for doing this. Do you mind sharing information about this plan? :)

I wrote more about it in my previous articles: here and here
I am shy and I never wrote anything before Steemit, but someone has to do this.

Long story short: I am living in Eastern Europe, major systems are falling here (political, financial,social and educational). Huge gaps are being created between the lucky few and the rest. We have created a Romanian curation group & my current plan is to use Steemit and it's financial benefits to:

  • Use our limited time but higher resources to promote Steemit to the rural and poor communities(where most of the people are still living on social support and even with absolute zero income).
  • Use local people, close to the communities we try to engage to keep contact and provide basic curation and tech support.
  • Use the time of the retired educated people (most of which are forgotten and living in extreme poverty, even in most cities) to educate, curate and engage others, also benefiting their own mental health and wallets through activities.
  • Create the framework for further exposure of their problems to the lucky few; engage in educational activities and promotion of science and prosocial behavior to reduce the acute alienation feeling they experience now.
  • Give them ideals and advice for their own development. Stop parents from going to work abroad abandoning their children and their education.
  • Connect to the NGO's that support education and even contribute ourselves to distribute tablets to empower them to join.

Our government has failed us. But I think it's our duty to intervene if we have the means!
The group is online and I hope that in a week we can delegate the SP and start the curation effort. When I will have a first result (first Case Study starts soon in a rural community) I will tell you more, since I know you share the vision.

Until then I am open to more questions, I spend a lot of time in SteemSTEM Discord.
Thanks for the time!

Thanks for the summary. I indeed missed the posts. This project is really nice and I wish you good luck. Don't hesitate to come to me for discussing how steemstem could help you :)

First I have to get the project started and see about its feasibility. I would only bother you once it's already proven to work at a small scale at least. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73