You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About dark mini black holes...

in #steemstem5 years ago

In my last comment you suggested I could ask questions. I'm not sure I know enough to ask a question. I went looking on the Internet (for more info) after reading your piece to try and understand the scenarios in which a black hole could evaporate, or grow. I think I understand: if a black hole doesn't absorb enough mass to compensate for the loss from Hawking radiation, then it will evaporate. But it can grow if it absorbs enough mass to compensate for that radiation. So, a black whole is not a pit of energy absorbing everything without limit. It is limited, or can be limited, by the effect of Hawking radiation. Am I correct?

I'm fascinated by this discussion and am determined to understand the universe that is my home. Thank you! Your language and clear explanation help a great deal.

I came across an article, which to a large extend was beyond me. However, reading it helped me to grasp more the relationship between Hawking radiation and black holes. Thermal spectrum of analogue black hole puts Hawking radiation in a new light.

Unrelated to the black hole: Hawking is one of my role models. He held that we should never think of what we can't do, but what we can do. Look what he did :)

Sort:  

You are totally correct with your understanding of black hole growth and evaporation. This is exactly how it happens. :)

Unrelated to the black hole: Hawking is one of my role models. He held that we should never think of what we can't do, but what we can do. Look what he did :)

I think that this can be somehow rephrased as "even if the not so great events, one can always find something positive". No? :)

I am tickled that I understand it! Good teachers take credit...go ahead :)

The Hawking quote I was thinking of was this:
“My advice to other disabled people would be, concentrate on things your disability doesn’t prevent you doing well, and don’t regret the things it interferes with. Don’t be disabled in spirit, as well as physically.”

Coming from him, that made a profound impression on me.

Totally! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30