You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to live healthy? Part 4: How can I get to the truth?

in #steemstem6 years ago

I have a very weak background in math and yet had no problem following your argument. It's not necessary to understand p-values to spot the design flaws in the study you describe. Every time there was a difficulty, instead of acknowledging the issue, there was a work around: Get rid of the outliers; 'somehow' come up with comparable Steem and Facebook users; eliminate telomere measurements that fall on either end of the spectrum (We just eliminate all targets less than 5 kb or larger than 13 kb). The whole process sounded like an outcome in search of a study.
I enjoyed the blog, and as has been true many times in recent years, wish I had not dodged all those advanced math courses.

Sort:  

Hey @agmoore,

thank you for reply, resteem and upvote.

I enjoyed the blog, and as has been true many times in recent years, wish I had not dodged all those advanced math courses.

Nevertheless, even without a huge mathematical background, almost everyone can understand where the problems and potentials of statistics are.

I'm happy that I received that goal and even people with (as you said) weak mathematical background enjoyed this article.

All the best

Chapper

Thank you for that gracious response :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49