You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Radioactive Pigs, Wild Pigs, Sick Pigs: The Trouble with Pigs Today

in #steemstem5 years ago

Hello my dear friend :)

How nice to see one of your posts on my feed. And, what a post! Thank you for taking the time to educate us about what's going on in the swine world. So much of what you write for us here is new to me. Like all your other posts this one had me glued to the screen from the very title.

You led us to learn how pigs become radioactive in a very skilled manner. By the way, I never knew mushrooms and truffles absorb nutrients through the environment rather then roots. But, then again, they belong to a different kingdom than that of plants! So ... I shouldn't be so surprised :P

My limited knowledge about these animals had me believing wild boars were almost exclusive to the Spanish hills and mountains. Quite fascinating to learn how widespread they've become and the reasons underlying it.

Reading about the sick pigs and the consequences of factory farming them was heart breaking. As much as the notion you put forward in your conclusion, which directly explains why things have become like this for these animals. My goodness, what is going to happen to the planet? When we look closely at what goes on the picture that comes to mind about the future is not a very bright one :/

Ps: I am going to share with my brother the Brazilian studies you mentioned here :)

Once again my dear friend, thank you for constantly educating us about our planet, our animals as well as their history! Your work is beautiful and as usual ... so richly illustrated :D

Wish much love & admiration from across the ocean :*
Your Brazilian friend <3

Sort:  

Dear Abigail,

Thank you for those kind words. You make my day. It was a bit dreary this morning, but not now :)

This information was all new to me, though of course I was aware of the factory farms. It's been years since I've eaten pork. Can't bear to do it, knowing what the pigs go through.

As for Brazil, I'm so impressed by how advanced the research is there in so many areas. I remember my ant article...Brazil was in the vanguard of that research. And here, researchers in Brazil are the only ones who seem to have figured out how precisely the environment and the pigs are related (when they need forest cover, how close water has to be, etc.)

I hope you are well, not too busy, and that every day is a rich adventure.

Love, appreciation and respect from chilly New York,
AG

I’m pleased to hear things are not so dreary anymore in chilly New York 😊 Things have been busy here. But everything is fine :) I love this time of the year.

It’s raining now, the fire is lit and I am looking for images to illustrate my next Steemit post...

Much love to you & be well my dear friend :)

🌞 🌼🌻🌻
🐖🐖

💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56