You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heating up neutron stars with dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

Gosh @lemouth, I don’t remember the last time I read something containing so many unfamiliar terminologies. I had to google what a muon is, but I prefer your description : “ the electron’s instable cousin”. Every family seems to have one of those. Even in the atomic world. 😌

So, is dark mater something that is yet to be proven? Did I get this right? And muons (and their dark matter??) pave the way towards it? 🙈

All right it’s time to get ready for lunch over here.
Have a great weekend :D

Sort:  

I have actually tried to make this post self-consistent, in the sense of defining each jargon term in simple words. Maybe not enough... :D

So, is dark mater something that is yet to be proven? Did I get this right?

Assuming dark matter allows us to get a nice agreement between cosmological data and theory. However, we have not managed to directly observe dark matter, so that it is indeed not yet proven. Conversely, other theories exist and they have not been excluded (at the same time of not having been proven correct too).

And muons (and their dark matter??) pave the way towards it? 🙈

Muonphilic dark matter is just one option that may explain why we have not observed dark matter yet and resolve several other current issues in particle physics.

I hope this clarifies! Do not hesitate to come back to me if you have more questions. I am happy you crossed the border and reads my posts ;)

PS: I think I will go with shorter posts in the future. Maybe this could attract more interest from non-physicists. I don't know.

Yes! It does clarify :) Thank you for taking the time to do so!

And yes, it was about time I crossed the borders and provided feedback to your work here. I've been afraid of sounding silly, but you have slowly put me at ease. So, I finally took the plunge! The friendly featured image, and the length of your writing definitely helped with this one. But, your encouragement over time was crucial. Finally, your kind, patient reply has definitely motivated me to come back for more :)

Thank you @lemouth :D

Ps: Shorter posts are a good call. I am also making an effort to do this as of late.

Happy painting to you guys.
Bye, bye for now.

I will always be happy to answer and give all necessary clarifications!

PS: the painting is going well: ceilings almost done, all white walls done, all "cream" walls done. Only the blue walls are left. With the two layers, we should be done by Tuesday ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88