You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: steemstats 0.3.4 - new live post inspector and incoming witness votes

in #steemstats8 years ago

Another incredible job @jesta I cannot say it enough, the entire Steemit community owes you a huge debt. Your relentless work on steemstats helps everyone and is impressive by all measures. Keep it up and don't get burnt out. We need your talent and creativity for the long haul.

One thought: is there any way to put a vote button on the witness page to easily vote? It would be a nice way for steemstats fans to show their appreciation to be able to easily vote for you (or anyone else on the list).

Sort:  

Thank you @mrosenquist, I'm here for the long haul as far as I can tell ;)

I've thought about ways to add witness voting functionality like that, but currently I don't have any of the authentication style activities developed. Everything's anonymous so far. That's primarily why I added the link at the top to head on over to the witness page here on steemit.com.

Another problem I want to solve is seeing ALL the witnesses you're voting for, not just the top 50. Currently, you have to goto your page on steemd.com like so:

https://steemd.com/@jesta

And scroll down and look in the left column to see who you vote for and who votes for you. Now that I finally am paying attention to how and why witness voting is used, I hope to make a lot of this stuff a lot easier.

Talking future development: Logins is absolutely something I'd like to have. Eventually I would love if you could somehow login to the site if you wanted to use it for voting/posting activities. But it's not something I'll add unless I'm absolutely positive the users would be safe!

The security and privacy should be the paramount issue. You don't want to put your users at risk and tarnish your reputation because of login credential issues. I would not rush into that. It may likely take changes to Steemit.com which could bridge the authentication so users aren't logging into Steemstats directly, but to Steemit and getting a token passed to Steemstats to prove who they are. You would need to work with the Steemit devs and they probably have a mile long list of more important features & fixes.

You would need to work with the Steemit devs and they probably have a mile long list of more important features & fixes.

Hit the nail on the head.

I've spoken with a few of the devs and I haven't been pushing for features like this simply because I know there are more important things to do. Logging into sites like steemstats is relatively low on the "make steemit.com successful" totem pole.

That's also why I'm trying to spend some time every week helping them clear off issues on steemit.com :)

i care your posts

You are thinking strategically and acting tactically. Good for you! (and for us too, as it turns out)

@jesta, thank you, after I looked live post inspector.. I realize the power of whale and dolphin... really.. now I understand about SP can impact your curation reward.... Nice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58630.93
ETH 2517.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35