MagMa Trail Run 2019: My Last Ultra Trail Marathon of the Year

in #steemsports5 years ago

MagMa Trail Run 2019 was a great way to cap my ultra trail running journey this year. Just a few towns north of Cebu, the sentinels of Danao and Carmen, Mt. Manghilao and Mt. Mago respectively, has some really scenic trails to offer.

Jumping off from the quiet community of Masaba at the break of dawn, navigating through tricky coralline rocks and agri-land patches. Not surprisingly, I twisted my ankle as early as KM2, got lost at KM3, and hit my left shin on a sharp rock at KM4, which before I noticed was already bleeding profusely.

IMG_20191221_131904_955.jpg

I tried to pace with seasoned trail runners Sir Eugene and Sir Marlon around Manghilao because they knew those trails well and I was scared of getting lost again, but I only managed roughly 10kms. Those guys are quick! When I was going on my own again, obviously, I got lost again but navigation is something I enjoy so all's good (except I already lost the lead 😂).

Santican! Everyone loved that assault (if love means enduring the pain but still enjoying what you're doing). The mossy forest was reminiscent of major climb jump-offs and I can't help but bask in the dark, cold, forest (weird noh? 😂). When I was out in the open, the fog has thickened, the sun still hasn't risen and I relied on the tiny reflectors to find my way up. Fun!

FB_IMG_1576130973351.jpg

When the assault was finally over, and after the Eskapo guys have taken photo proof that I was there before daylight (😂), I went Forrest Gump all the way to Mago peak. That's when I realized I was four minutes short of the lead and with the running power rendered by the perfect weather and great scenery (and energy gels of course), I was able to regain the lead spot all the way to Pili.

There in the runnable terrain of Pili, where somehow some of the trail signs were tampered with, I kept running and running, checking only my GPX every few minutes. And in one of those few minute gaps, I kept running downhill because it was freeing, and then saw some runners on the opposite hill. I was on the wrong route yet again!! It was so far off now, I had to climb all the way back, yet again losing the lead. 🤦

FB_IMG_1575961955226.jpg

Again, I just kept running because it was all "downhill from there", slowing down only a few times on the sight of sharp rocks. The sun had been high up by now that I had to ask for a dipper of bathe water from the locals. At KM30 I started having acid refluxes and eventually puked (because it's easier when you do). When the acid devil was out my body, I sped up again all the way to the aid station. Thanks to Rodney for pacing with me all throughout this segment.

When the route entered Manghilao again, I gave the assault all I got in hopes of regaining the lead spot again. But the gap was just too far. I started meeting 30km and 15km runners, skipped one aid station because I still had ample supply. And then eventually made my way to the out and back section of Mantija. That's where I saw the female lead, already 8-minutes ahead and only around four kilometers short of the finish line.

I knew right there and then that although I couldn't earn the championship for my last ultra of the year, that I gave it all that I got (see how many times I said "I kept running"), that it was probably the fastest race I've done, and that my body has become accustomed to the distance, pace-wise, nutrition-wise, and that I was to beat my race plan that day.

FB_IMG_1575888435964.jpg

I wasn't able to do a sub-10 but I came so close with 52 seconds surplus. I planned on finishing at 10:25 which I was able to beat by 24 minutes, crossing the finish line as the official first runner up.

But so much for my own personal accomplishments, that day I met ladies who were to try ultra trail running for the first time. I am still in awe and inspired by the grit displayed by these strong and determined ladies and I knew that far from podium finishes, there are stories worth telling about and lessons worth learning from.

Congratulations and thank you to everyone made this an awesome experience: my Cebu Mountain Goats family, titos of Cebu Trail Runners, Eskapo Mountaineers, and all the runners who braved the start line of MagMa Trail Run 2019.

See you all again in 2020 starting lines! 💜💙💚

MagMa Trail Run 2019
50kms Manghilao-Mago
2nd Place Female Category
10:00:52

Sort:  

Congratulations @xaydtrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

nice journey you had

Wow...Looks like you had a great time on trails. Congratulations for winning the 1st runner up position.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60915.52
ETH 3364.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48