Let's Talk 90s Figure Skaters

in #steemsports6 years ago




SteemSports Presenter: @brandonk
SteemSports Editor: @theprophet0

I was just a kid, but Ice Skating seemed so majestic to me. It's a sport that is truly only unveiled at the Olympics which shows what a high class and high level of sophisitication the sport itself poses to the world. I remember the 90s ice skaters of lore very well, and I'd like to explore some nostalgia.


I remember it was 1997 or 1998 and I was a kid at the Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards. I had always gotten hook ups from my actor friends and mom and this was no different... except for the fact that I'd meet one of my favorite figure skaters at the time, and of all time!

Kristie Yamaguchi was her name, and she was a Japanese-American phenom who was one of the most intricately beautiful athletes to ever grace the ice. I loved her presence and ability to move the audience with every spin and turn, she was truly spectacular and ruled the 90s!
I find her and Michelle Kwan to be the two most notorious of ice skating athletes of the 90s, and although there were many I did also watch, I felt they were consistently the absolute best. They also both made the Olympics countless times because of their grace and skill.

I find myself wanting to be back in that era watching the beautiful movements and abilities of these ladies. It is truly wondrous watching how the sport of ice and figure skating has evolved, but I still do miss what I consider the Golden Era of the sport all around.
I just wanted to offer a glimpse into some other sports I used to follow as a child, and some I still do now. I am trying to branch off from fighting and combat so we will see how that goes and how long it lasts. As always, thanks to those who actually read my words!


Sort:  

Good times!...:)...

Health is wealth

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65