You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMSPORTS CEO UPDATE: SUPERBOWL GAME HITS 5000+ STEEM

in #steemsports7 years ago

Let me start off by saying I've always been a big fan of SteemSports and thank you for everything you guys have done. I made my first wager on SteemSports.com today and I've gotta ask why do you not scale the lines like other sites?
Any number of online prediction market sites have a 1:1 line going at the same odds of -3 and +3. It was completely my fault that I didn't understand exactly how the payout system worked on SteemSports.com before placing my bet and I accept that.
Can I ask why the line doesn't change based on the wagers such as other platforms?
In no way am I bashing steemsports in any way, I am just simply curious.

Sort:  

We went for stale lines and pool based approach for liquidity reasons. While the app is young, there aren't many players (yet), and this model works OK for now.

We will be switching to a proper prediction market model in the future.

As I continued to think about it I realized how the lack of total funds being wagered would be a huge setback to implement that type of system. Thanks for clarifying that. Enjoy the game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67489.61
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56