Dtube Exclusive // Smells Like STEEM Spirit by Nirvana on the Ukulele (Check out @Kpine's Steem Spirit Contest!)

in #steemspirit6 years ago (edited)


Hi Guys,

Nirvana is literally my SOUL music and I have been wanting to cover this song for a long time. The other day I saw that @kpine was running a "Steem Spirit" contest. I personally think this is a really cool opportunity for people to not only showcase how they are building the community - but it also gives them a chance to get their work noticed and supported. Not only by @kpine, but also by the community at large. I know a lot of Steemians (myself included) are reading through the entries and giving votes to some of the really awesome entries.

I am not eligible to participate, but I still want to support this awesome contest! I re-steemed his contest post, but thought this cover would be a fun way to promote it and maybe help a few more people find out about it.

Contest Link - https://steemit.com/steemspirit/@kpine/ok-contest-number-2-better-late-than-never

You want to know something funny? I don't know if you have ever noticed that the song doesn't actually use the worlds "Teen spirit" anywhere in the song... and so I have not altered any of the lyrics. I actually think that is best though because it would almost feel disrespectful to Kurt Cobain if I played around with the lyrics at all anyway.

Speaking of lyrics... here they are:


Load up on guns, bring your friends
It's fun to lose and to pretend
She's over-bored and self-assured
Oh no, I know a dirty word
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello
With the lights out, it's less dangerous
Here we are now, entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now, entertain us
A mulatto, an albino, a mosquito, my libido
Yeah, hey
I'm worse at what I do best
And for this gift I feel blessed
Our little group has always been
And always will until the end
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello
With the lights out, it's less dangerous
Here we are now, entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now, entertain us
A mulatto, an albino, a mosquito, my libido
Yeah, hey
And I forget just why I taste
Oh yeah, I guess it makes me smile
I found it hard, it's hard to find
Oh well, whatever, never mind
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello, how low
Hello, hello, hello
With the lights out, it's less dangerous
Here we are now, entertain us
I feel stupid and contagious
Here we are now, entertain us


I hope some of you guys decide to join into his contest and show us your Steem Spirit! I'm already enjoying the entries that have started rolling in. It has been fun to see how people are helping to grow the community, and I have even found some awesome new people to follow from these entries!

I hope you guys enjoyed this Nirvana cover on my ukulele.

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We think alike again. I had the same idea on my drums yesterday here, but it got lost on the sea floor.

Excellent wardrobe choice and rebel rocker face with the uke upside down in the snap.

Woah that’s awesome!! I’ll have to give it a listen!!

Glad you liked the cover photo. That’s the look I was going for... but I was worried it just looked like I wanted to smash people’s face in with my ukulele. 😂

If you join into Kaoreke will you wear your Goldmoney shirt? :) we are getting some incredible entries!!

Definitely!!! I know I need to get that Into you soon! I don’t want to miss the boat. 😃

Omg its going to be SO GOOD! I have some really great stuff already . I cant wait to see yours

That’s so cool to hear that you were already getting some good entries! All right, I’m gonna put this song on repeat while I work on some chores around the house. I don’t actually know it that well, so I got a learn it!

You are going to kill this! If you want you can use it as a regular post too so its worth your time :). I just know yours is going to be one of the very top entries !!

My Fav song when growing up <3

True talent is timeless. You know I song is really exceptional when you can listen to it for decades and still love it.

Oh man, you are taking me back to my high school days! And the obligatory flannel tied around the waist! Good times... Enjoyed your rendition!

Aww I’m glad you enjoyed it!!!

Is it bad that I still think a flannel tied around the waist is cool!?? Hahah

You should do 'Heart-Steemed Box' next -- maybe 'Steem As You Are'?

OMG you are a genius!!! Haha both of those titles are super witty. If I ever do that, I’ll be sure to credit you!

Without your emotion in the song, they will be purely sound without life. You are always supportive in helping others. No one can deny that you have a big generous and selfless heart. This draws people like me to stay connected with you. We are naturally influenced by your passion as well. Continue to shine as a model example of how a true steemit comrade should be!

Aww your comment means so much to me!!! Thank you for your kind words and staying so connected on my posts. 😊

I loved it, that was delightful! I play the guitar and that motivates me to finish learning how to play that song (the music only, I can't sing). I hope to hear more from you in the future.

Oooh you should!! And then post a video on Dtube or Dlive so we can all enjoy it ! :-)

Wow you actually still have a Nirvana shirt!!!

I will never get rid of this shirt. 😍

Nirvana... stirs up lots of emotions. The lyrics are amazing!

Agreed ❤️

Wonderful! To be completely honest I never really thought of the ukulele as a real instrument. The only time I heard it played was some Hawaii themed music. But call me a catfish and slap me with a noodle if you did not make it utterly enjoyable. I subscribed and cannot wait for more.

LOL your analogy cracked me up!! I’m glad I could help change your mind about ukulele’s! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94