A vector drawing of Avignon, France

in #steemsketchbook5 years ago (edited)

SketchTravel in France

An ongoing influence


After doing many sketches in France, Spain, and Portugal, I like to revisit them and sometimes extrapolate secondary images. In this case I wanted to capture a feeling of movement through the architectural styles, where the overlapping layers of building are full of intriguing arches, stairways, and seemingly secret passages to inner courtyards and intimate spaces. Instead of using detail, I like to stylize shapes with curves and intersections of shapes, taking liberties with how things line up to create more of a design than a scene.

crop2.jpg

I began by drawing a quick sketch to work out the basic shapes, and then redrew it in my vector program Adobe Illustrator to get the feeling the way I wanted it. Finally, I developed a color palette that reflects a warm Mediterranean climate. So it really isn't a certain place, but is rather a mood of the amazing old cities in southern France and elsewhere.

Avignon-vector.png

My idea is to have recognizable subject matter, while at the same time simply playing with shapes and color in a way that is hopefully interesting in and of itself.

©All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared. I appreciate it.

I really like this, @mrsomebody ! The colours and forms are so wonderful, I feel like I fell into a building, only to realize that it isn't a building, but many :D Like falling but leaping through archways and it's really delightful, always a treat coming across your artworks <3

Thank you @veryspider. I like your description of it. That is what aimed for - allowing your eye to bounce around in a playful way. There is just a hint of perspective here and there, so you aren't lead one way or the other.

I like the way you make these vectors ! I struggle a lot in making a nice color pallete of more than 3 shades, and seeing people like you, who can do what I can't do inspires me.

These are cute btw.

Thank you @aalagenesis. Color palettes are often a challenge. I tend to like more subdued colors for doing paintings, but I'm trying to brighten it up a bit. When I see a palette I like, I try to take a screen capture of it for future reference. Also I like to go to https://color.adobe.com/explore and type a word into the search bar, anything to conjure up the right feeling, like tropics, winter, desert, sadness, whatever gets you in the right direction. You will see lots of color groups there.

Thank you for the tip @mrsomebody! I will follow that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60