SketchCrazed – surreal, lurid, unzipped

in #steemsketchbook5 years ago (edited)

SketchCrazed is an opportunity for me to share the very strange drawings I do. The common thread is in the attempt to explore new relationships of form, contrast, and pattern, and to see where they take me.

Breakfast at Johnny’s


hashbrunions.jpg

I used to go to this old rundown café that was sandwiched between two used car lots. It had the wrap around counter where you could sit and watch Johnny perform with his spatula. Johnny never failed to discreetly disclose to me how the bank was screwing him, how they wouldn’t let him refinance and on and on. There was also a side room of little tables with gaudy décor and Christmas lights strung about.

Johnny’s wife was the waitress, an aging, well proportioned Eastern European woman who had a huge presence, calling me “honey”. She wore more makeup than a lesser woman could support. Who knows what she actually wore on Halloween?

I went to Johnny’s for their special breakfast – steak, eggs, onions and potatoes, peppers and who knows what else, and sprinkled with a secret spice mix from Lebanon that may have produced strange effects on me. The dish was called the Hashbrunion Supreme. When Johnny’s wife emerged from the kitchen and brought the huge steaming plate to my table, she seemed to size me up for a moment, as the steam swirled up and enveloped her. Then I swear that plate hovered in the air and made a slow controlled descent onto my table, as if it had its own propulsion system. After that I’d get a kind of amnesia. Always did like Johnny’s.

sketch.jpg

My original sketch

©All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

surreal, lurid, unzipped


footer.jpg

Steemians, thanks for checking out this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment your thoughts below!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

What a vivid and evocative description and the drawing is super neat, too :) I can almost see Johnny and his wife in my mind's eye * ___ * Very nice post, @mrsomebody :)

haha thank you @veryspider. It was quite an eclectic place for sure. They eventually moved to a new location and changed to a Lebanese restaurant, which was ok but not the same. Those hashbrunions... I can still taste them.

Congratulations @mrsomebody! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you @steemboard for the badges!

You're welcome @mrsomebody
Feel free to vote our witness to support us. You will get one more badge and more powerful votes from us on your posts.

Nice artwork and back story, @mrsomebody! It's good to see you back. 😉

Thanks @trincowski, it has been awhile. I have a trip to Japan on the calendar now, so I look forward to new sketching opportunities this fall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75