Downhill Dog! This Dog Knows How To Roll!

in #steemskate5 years ago

Yes that is a beagle riding a board down a hill, yes he is actually steering, and yes he is he has a stuffed squirrel riding his back. The leash is just to control his speed, and stop him at the bottom of the hill.

This is not a new video of mine, but pretty sure most of you have never seen it sin e this was the first video I posted to Steem almost 2 years ago! But since I have gotten a much bigger audience, I figured I'd show it again. As far as I know that's not against any rules I've heard, so long as I don't spam it, I don't see why I can't share one of my best videos again.

The Story

I believe this was my 3rd time at the famous Maryhill Loops Road, which is a dream hill for anyone in the world of gravity sports. Each year there are usually 3 events called Freerides, which largely is occupied by longboarders, but welcomes all gravity powered vehicles. Often you'll see street lugers, gravity bikes, drift trikes, rollerbladers, rollerskaters, and even the occasional Barbie Jeep.

This year however, we saw our first skateboarding dog, Jasper The Skate Dog! The owner told me it started just as going for bike rides with the dog down the boardwalk, but people kept telling him about this Maryhill place that would be perfect for him. Once he looked it up he decided to give it a try, and I believe has been going once a year at least since.

I saw him and decided he needed a run filmed. Sadly wore out my favorite pair of shoes breaking down the hill, but it was worth it for the footage. Thinking I might do a reedit to make the video a bit shorter, and post it to Instagram too.

Camera

The video was shot in 4k, with a Sony Action camera. Honestly until the latest Gopro came out, it was the smoothest action camera on the market. The only reason I would consider upgrading to the Gopro, would be for the ultra slow motion filming they have.

Posting Soon!

Currently working on a video to invite my fellow longboarders to Steem, but I'm just not happy with the results yet. I always feel like I'm explaining Steem well, but going back and watching it I feel it just sounds like rambling. Does anyone have any videos, or posts promoting steem, that I could use for inspiration? What keeps you on Steem, and what do you think is the best reason people should join Steem?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hahahaha! Have you seen Beagle's (skate flimer) dog? This dog has a pro model deck and is doing some crazy stuff on board lol.
This beagle seems to enjoy every second of it. Such a nice video bro!
Resteemed by @steemskate

Haven't seen that Beagle yet. I'll have to find that one.

Check it out dude!

Congratulations @howweroll! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.
You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I know that is Washington, but it sure does look like parts of California, around the Malibu hills. Hey man, you should upload the videos to Dtube as oppose to linking Youtube, you'll get way more interaction :-)

I've been having issues with uploading to Dtube, and just haven't had time to work out how to fix it yet.

Yeah its really hit n miss actually. Sometimes it will freeze on upload so you have to try again the next day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66