The Steem Sister Show - Episode 27 // Money Hacks

in #steemsistershow6 years ago


Welcome to the 27th episode of the Steem Sister Show!

Your hosts are @coruscate and @maryjaney. We are two sisters using the Steem blockchain to chat about our life experiences and provide a little entertainment value to the Steemit Community.

Topic of this Episode – Money Hacks!


I hope you guys like the little different cover photo on this episode! We headed outdoors to the park again to film because it is crazy hot in my apartment right now! don't worry - no crazy bug incidents in this episode.

This week we are talking all about money hacks! Based on some of the listener questions - I'd say there are a few "hacks" and a few more general money talk. Both Mary and I have a lot more we could say on this subject - so we may circle around to it again in the future!

Here are the questions covered in this episode:

  • If you are going to splurge on something… what do you splurge on?

  • What is a money saving hack you are most proud of?

  • Audience question from @brian.rrr – What are your strategies for saving money on cable/Netflex/streaming services?

  • If money is tight – which areas do you cut back immediately?

  • Audience question from @michelmake – How do you deal with finances between you and your significant other? (do you have similar spending habits, how do you deal with shared expenses, income differential?)

  • Audience question from @aussieninja – What are your thoughts on tipping?

What is the Steem Sister Show All About?


We aim to bring more “non-crypto” related content to the Steem Blockchain. Although there is nothing wrong with this kind of content (@corsucate even posts on crypto related material sometimes) – we want to help create a better onboarding experience for new users. We talk a lot about attracting new users to the platform – but if the trending page is filled with crypto posts and flagging wars, they are likely to lose interest quickly.

We hope that by creating content that is more similar to what they are used to seeing on other social media sites – they will feel more excited about being here and creating content of their own!

How Does It Work?


We pick a different topic every episode, and then throw totally random questions about that topic in a hat and go back and forth. We always have a mix of our own questions and some audience questions. Our rule is that we cannot tell each other our answers before filming! So you guys are getting our raw, unfiltered reactions here.

Every episode we announce the next week’s topic so people can submit questions.

Want to win some SBD??



If we chose to answer your question in the next show… we will send you 2 SBD! Now that’s some easy money.

Next Week’s Topic : Coscto Hacks/Tips!


Apparently, we are all about the life hacks these days. We will be reporting live from Coscto next week - talking all about our favorite items to purchase, and ways we use Costco to save money. If I'm being honest, I should probably share all the ways i've wasted money on things I didn't need because Costco did a good job selling it to me. But I digress...

If you would like the possibility of winning 2 SBD - please submit your questions! Anything on the topic of Costco is fair game.

Listener questions always end up being the best ones - so thank you in advance to everyone who submits one!

That’s a Wrap!


We hope you enjoyed watching our episode on money hacks! We had so much fun filming this episode - if you can't tell. I think we are both really enjoying filming outside! You may see more outdoor and "on location" episodes throughout the summer.

If you have any thoughts or questions that came up from this episode – feel free to shoot them in the comments below.

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@corsucate and @maryjaney

78DFD348-5948-4706-8D4B-47041D8AF229.jpeg



Ps... In case you missed it - @daveonarrival has now provided official documentation of the Steem Sister Sushi adventures! Check out his video below!

Screen Shot 2018-07-17 at 12.12.26 PM.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Omg @maryjaney s fiancée has TWO pairs of pants??? What a legend! Thats double what I have!

LOL!! Boys...

One day... One day... Learn balance Daniel san... Wax-on... Wax-off.

Definitely going to have to look into this whole two pairs of pants thing. Next thing you know she will tell me he has more than one pair of socks

Yeah, but your gold pants are worth more than my house.

At least someone is talking about MY pants for once

Holy shit! I have never heard that many sushi mentions in a video on Steemit :-)

The thing is that I too am running on low budget and mention of Sushi just makes me want to have some. I mean seriously, this could be a question.........because I am a sushi novice.

How to eat Sushi on a budget? Is it even possible?

Edit: Just reached the ending of the video and have no Costco question in mind :p

hahaha Yeah... as I was editing the episode I realized we went a little crazy one the sushi references! lol

Sorry that we made you hungry for sushi!! I wish I had a great sushi hack - except maybe to fall in love with cheap rolls? hahah California rolls are usually the cheapest ones here.

No worries on the Costco question! If one happens to come to mind - feel free to pop it in the comments!

Nailed it with the name :) @coruscate and @maryjaney, I'm really excited my question made into the show thanks a lot to both of you! I am a big fan! You guys produce something nice to watch on a regular basis, how can one not be a fan!

I'm pretty passionate about the whole tipping system in the US. Because of my girlfriend being an American we had lots of discussions on the differences between EU/US. In general, the arguments you gave, pro and con, align with ours :)

Keep it up! It's fun!

P.S. Also, keep us posted on your Steem Fest saving hacks! That will be a popular topic ;)

Costco related:

I dunno about your area, but we have a couple stores around. The close one, you could go in at 10:30 am on a tuesday (The arbitrary time where nobody should be shopping) and it is jam packed with people and the other is about a half hour further of a trip, but is more tolerable.

Which brings the question : Are you strategic about the timing and/or location when you go to Costco?

Also: where do you sit on the balance; do you go for the barrel full of the mediocre product, or do you opt for the higher quality products in smaller amounts?

To your issue about money in a marriage : my wife and I opted to keep things joint, but that we maintain individual bank accounts that we maintain so that there's some money that can be mine or her own, and allows for secret purchases (like when you want to get a gift without tipping the hand).

That of keeping individual accounts is a very good idea... I know people who share everything that when they have to make a private cost as a gift is a complete odyssey.

It's good to see you both Steemit sister.. this episode is quite different than others..
Keep it up.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love this episode. You look so happy and smiling, they spread good vibes.

Thank you @teresah!

Great work by you sisters.
I like your every post.

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yeay! I'm finally back here again after perishing from Steemit for almost a month coz of my hectic real life. Okey, now let me join your game as I used to. Regarding the next week topic, I wonder how is the seller tactic in Costco to offer their things till you like to buy those even you don't really need it? Can you share a bit?
The seller might get A+++ in Marketing Class I guess 😂

I'm finally back here again after perishing from Steemit for almost a month coz of my hectic real life.

I feel you! Work and study leave too little time for steemit, lol. I always manage to read a few posts and watch Lea's videos tho :)

Ahahahahah, we're in the same condition then 😆
Thanks for replying dude, Followed you!

Naaawwwwwww, the park is so nice... the light from the setting sun towards the end was so good!

I had no idea about the power dynamics and newbie-palmingoffness from tipping.. it makes sense, but man... also, more as a barista than corporate work? That is definitely different in not-America.

YES! Proclaim away!
I'm not sure of Vancouver specifics yet (it's a visa thing) but I'll be there a whole week, plenty of time for funness!

My partner and I have been together all the years, and we're like boring and married and stuff, but we are totally 100% seperate money-wise... I think it avoids a lot of tension, we've seen it in so many of our friends that as soon as their money is pooled, one or both in the relationship starts to question purchases. We've divided the bills, so house is my responsibilty, car is hers, etc etc...

@maryjaney, if you do end up pooling your cashmoneys, maybe make sure you both have an allotment of monthly personal spending money...

Ah, I've never been to Costco... but one of my friend's parents loved it, and I remember visiting to find they had bought so much toiletpaper that we were able to wall off an entire section of their house... so...

... have you ever bought a ridiculous amount of something because it was on special?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87