Why are some bullion products so much more expensive than they should be?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

2018-PM-Swan-silver-proof-REV 50 percent.jpg

I would like to offer my analysis of why, I feel that in many cases (not all) that bullion product prices are so darn high!

The price gouging is not coming from the mints or the distributors. It's coming from the dealers we are buying from!

1oz-krugerrand-2017-silver-coin-front at 50 percent.jpg

We all have observed how dealers will offer a pre-sale in limited block amounts to see how much interest there is, then use that data to raise the price on the next limited block amount pre-sale price, until they have achieved the max price folks are willing to pay for the piece on a pre-sale. Then, when the product comes out, they do it all over again! When they first offer the product at price "X" and they see the demand is still extremely high, they pop the price up and if it's still selling too quickly then they pop the price again, and again until they feel they have the maximum price they can ask that the market is willing to pay. This is called price gouging and it may or may not be illegal in this respect, however, I do consider it to be extremely exploitative and a shady business practice.

front_1082_406 at 50 percent.jpg

If you find a dealer who is not practicing this shady type of fluid pricing then I would pledge my sales loyalty to them, even if their prices are initially a few cents more! We need to reward those dealers who are not greedy and shady and stop buying from those who are. If enough buyers are willing to do this, it will force the price gouging dealers to back off this this unethical practice. Just my opinion!

Sort:  

excellent friend. You have my support I hope to have your support to keep growin

I'm following you and will try to keep up! Still learning the space!

Thanks, just want folks to have an awareness!

Yeah, I agree and I do think the mints know what's going on as they the ones supplying the dealers or agents like in case of rm. problem is a dealer exclusive means they have sole control over the price. Plus add a lower mintage than typical demand and that's going to create a lack of supply, Create the frenzy they want and i do feel that look at the emu or new bird of paradise and they asking more and a lot are falling for it. Soon we all be paying more for that 1oz with a design on it. I've not bought any swans or other over inflated priced coins regardless of low mintage. Rather still buy kooks, koalas or queens beast etc much better value. but at some point they will be killed off as one leads then all others follow. How it all works they offer you the next new amazing thing. Then it turnsout to be a trap, to extort you for more. Take cd's they cost less to make than cassettes did but cost more as better quality sound.
So For me I'm not buying these sort of coins outta principle. After all they are bullion and not a proof and really no better than a kook IMO even though there at least 10 times less of them produced.

Very true! I have backed off all the "new releases" unless the design means something to me personally. And even then, I only buy one or two, not in bulk. Bulk is for my stack not the collection. Sometimes I'll buy a piece because I want to do a vid on it but usually even those I have some kind of personal interest in otherwise I wouldn't like doing all the research and production involved with putting the content together! lol

Gonna try and give you a little Steemit boost @torch66

Congratulations @torch66! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70